Paul Nice

Paul Kilianski

Also known as DJ Paul Nice
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,!/djpaulnice

Discography of Paul Nice:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Definition Of Nice 6 Audio 1999
2 14 Cold Blooded Breaks 14 Audio 2003-06-10 Super Break Records
3 5 Fingers Of Death Battle Breaks Vol. One 15 Audio All Access
4 Journey To The Centre Of The Beats 18 Audio 2004 Antidote
5 Soul On The Grill 29 Audio 2003 Not On Label (Paul Nice Self-released)
6 Beef Patty Breaks Vol. 1 13 Audio 2004 Super Break Records
7 Ultimate Block Party Breaks Volume 2 10 Audio 2005 Not On Label
8 Soul On The Grill 2 (The Early 80's Session) 23 Audio 2005 Not On Label (Paul Nice Self-released)
9 Breaks For Days 69 Audio 2002 Not On Label
10 5 Fingers Of Death Battle Breaks Vol. II 10 Audio Super Break Records
11 Sade Blends 16 Audio 2007 Not On Label (Sade)
12 Beats Anonymous Volume One 6 Audio 1996 Empire Recordings
13 Beats Anonymous Volume Two 8 Audio 1998 Empire Recordings
14 "Do You Pick Your Feet In Poughkeepsie?" 41 Audio Not On Label
15 Brazil Vol. 1 22 Audio 2005 Not On Label
16 Choice Cuts 14 Audio 2005 Not On Label (Paul Nice Self-released)
17 JFK To Narita 56 Audio 2005 Not On Label
18 Drum Library Vol.1 20 Audio 2001-11-27 Super Break Records
19 Ultimate Block Party Breaks Volume 1 11 Audio 2003 Not On Label
20 Drum Library Vol.5 11 Audio 2003
21 Drum Library Vol.6 22 Audio 2003 Super Break Records
22 Drum Library Vol. 4 22 Audio 2002 Super Break Records
23 Drum Library Vol. 1-5 110 Audio 2009 Super Break Records
24 Drum Library Vol.3 22 Audio 2002 Super Break Records
25 Drum Library Vol. 2 22 Audio 2001-11-27 Super Break Records
26 Neva Stop Diggin' / Smash! 2 Audio 2011-01-00 Diggers With Gratitude
27 Fresh To Def 25 Audio 2006 Not On Label (Paul Nice Self-released)
28 Shaolin Buddha Beat Mix 16 Audio 2011 MDFM Records
29 BK (We Don't Play) 3 Audio 2011
30 Conflict 2 Audio 2011-08-00
31 Conflict 2 Audio 2011-08-00
32 Conflict 2 Audio 2011-08-00
33 Drum Library Vol. 7 2 Audio 2011 Super Break Records
34 Turn Tha Party Out (Remix) 3 Audio 2011-10-00
35 Just A Little Something / 4BK 3 Audio 2011-11-00 Slice-of-Spice
36 Turn Tha Party Out (Remix) 3 Audio 2011-10-00
37 Turn Tha Party Out (Remix) 3 Audio 2011-10-00
38 Just A Little Something / 4BK 3 Audio 2011-11-00 Slice-of-Spice
39 The (Unofficial) Black Album Remix 15 Audio Not On Label
40 Drum Library Vol. 9 2 Audio 2013-04-23 Super Break Records
41 Drum Library Vol. 8 2 Audio 2013-06-04 Super Break Records
42 Drum Library Vol. 10 2 Audio 2013-07-16 Super Break Records
43 Forgotten Treasures Mix #09 26 Audio 2013
44 Drum Library Vol. 6-10 110 Audio 2013 Super Break Records
45 WKOD 11154 FM - The Golden Era Of Break Beats 59 Audio 2014-07-19

Paul came up in the early 80's as a snot nose DJ, making a name for himself spinning at hard scrabble community centers and parties in his hometown of Poughkeepsie, NY.

Toward the later half of the decade, he began dabbling in production; first with local crew Magnum Force, then with early Source magazine Unsigned Hype winner, J Rock. After relocating to Manhattan in the 90's, Paul embraced the role of producing wholeheartedly when he purchased an Akai MPC-60 II.

In quick succession, he began releasing his own material on wax, including the now classic "Beats Anonymous" and the best selling DJ Break series, "5 Fingers of Death" and "Drum Library" (which Kanye West has often relied on for his own production). His infamous "Fist of the White Lotus" instrumental has been freestyle'd over by countless rap legends including Biggie Smalls & Jay-Z.

Paul spent a few years in the Bay Area of Oakland/San Francisco where he established himself as one of the more sought after beatsmiths during the thriving indie hip hop scene of the late 90's. With "production credits to die for" (Spine Magazine), Paul has produced & remixed some of the best from east to west and beyond, including Biz Markie's infectious comeback singe, "Turn The Party Out"; an exclusive remix of the Beastie Boys' "Hey Ladies" for their Anthology DVD (Criterion); "Conflict"- the only collaboration between rap legends Guru (Gangstarr) and Masta Ace; his own single "Definition of Nice" featuring AG (DITC), Genessee & Babu (Dilated Peoples) to name but a few. Other credits have Paul working with such luminaries as Mark Ronson, Sharon Jones, Quantic, Ol' Dirty Bastard, Black Thought (The Roots), Talib Kweli, Tony Touch, Lord Finesse, Party Arty, Phil Most Chill, Foreign Legion, Prozack, Rasco, Planet Asia, El Gant, Swollen Members (including 3 songs used on EA Sports' NBA LIVE franchise), Abstract Rude, Jamal-Ski, Agallah, Nightmares On Wax, DJ Yoda and Lady Kier (DeeeLite).

Paul is also responsible for such critically acclaimed mix tapes as "Breaks For Days" and "Soul On The Grill".

His remix of Jay-Z's entire "Black Album" was hailed as "a masterpiece" by XLR8R magazine and lauded by The New York Times as well.

As a DJ, Paul has played all over the world including NY, LA, Las Vegas, London, Paris, Tokyo, Sydney and back again.

He recently linked up with Richard Smith & his indy label powerhouse, Slice-Of-Spice Records, for several limited 7" collaborations featuring never-before-released rarities, coupled with some amazing artwork courtesy of Joe Buck (De La Soul).

This inspired Paul to launch his new label, SURE SHOT! - which he founded in 2011 with his partner (and high school sweetheart), Desarée Colón.

2012 and beyond sees Paul as prolific as ever with the formation of "The Fabreeze Brothers", the long-awaited pairing of Paul Nice & Phill Most Chill.

Comments about Paul Nice: