Members of Saloon: Adam Cresswell, Alison Cotton, Amanda Gomez, Matt Ashton, Michael Smoughton
This performer (group) in the Internet:,

Discography of Saloon:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Shopping / Song For Hugo 2 Audio 2000-04-00 Amberley
2 (This Is) What We Call Progress 10 Audio 2002-04-08 Track & Field
3 Free Fall / Movimiento 2 Audio 2001-09-24 Track & Field
4 (This Is) What We Call Progress 10 Audio 2002-04-08 Track & Field
5 If We Meet In The Future 10 Audio 2003 Track & Field
6 Lo-Fi Sounds, Hi-Fi Heart 17 Audio 2006-01-30 Track & Field
7 Girls Are The New Boys 3 Audio 2002-10-21 Track & Field
8 Electron 2 Audio 2000-07-03 Bearos
9 Impact / Body Pop 2 Audio 2001-05-00 Glamourpuss
10 Futurismo / Forget To Fade Out 2 Audio 1999 Artists Against Success
11 Tour Single 2 Audio 2002 Track & Field
12 If We Meet In The Future 10 Audio 2003 Track & Field
13 (This Is) What We Call Progress 10 Audio 2002-04-08 Darla Records
14 If We Meet In The Future 10 Audio 2003-07-01 Darla Records
15 Lo-Fi Sounds, Hi-Fi Heart 17 Audio 2006-01-31 Darla Records
16 Untitled 7 Audio 1999 Not On Label
17 4 Track Demo 4 Audio 1998-05-00 Belmondo Productions

Saloon was formed in late 1997 by Adam Cresswell (bass/synthesisers) and Michael Smoughton (drums). In early 1998, they added Alison Cotton (viola) (who came from another Reading band, British Air Powers, who went on to become British Sea Power) as well as Amanda Gomez (lead vocal) and Matt Ashton (guitars). 

Their sound drew on a range of influences of electronic and more guitar-based acts, and developed a futuristic pop sound that incorporated Cotton's viola playing, Cresswell's interest in Moog synthesisers, and Ashton's feedback-tinged guitar style. Comparison's were made with contemporaries Broadcast, Belle and Sebastian and Stereolab.

After releasing a home-recorded, four-track demo (The Blue Demo) in 1998 the now hard to find, Lisa Millennium / Conquistador was released on their own Belmondo label. 

The band released a number of split and 7" singles and came to the attention of BBC DJ John Peel, who championed the band and their subsequent single releases and band recorded three Peel sessions.

Saloon toured extensively (in a post van if their distributor Cargo Records website was to be believed) throughout their career and curated their own club night and Festival in Reading called ‘Happy Robots’. Band members were also involved in other bands and projects including Tompaulin, Moskva, Rodney Cromwell and The Eighteenth Day of May. 

The debut Saloon album '(This Is) What We Call Progress' was mixed by Andrew Prinz of Mahogany in who also designed the sleeve and was released in April 2002 to favourable reviews, including the Sunday Times in the UK who listed it amongst their top 10 of the year.

Saloon quickly got to work writing the follow-up. Between the release of the albums the band were hit with unexpected success when Girls Are The New Boys reached number one in Peel's annual Festive 50, This was one of four Saloon releases in the coveted chart, with two entries in 2001 and two entries in 2002. The self-produced second album If We Meet in the Future was released in June 2003, again to mostly positive reviews including the NME who awarded it 8/10.

Despite this, following its release the band completed their touring commitments and disappeared. In 2004 the band website announced the official split. The reasons for the split was never clarified.

A compilation album of the early Saloon singles Lo-Fi Sounds, Hi-Fi Heart was released in 2006. Gomez and Cresswell also provided production duties on the 2004 album, Let's Get Static, by Track and Field band, The Projects. The Saloon members have been involved in numerous other bands since the split including  The Leaf Library, The Left Outsides and Arthur and Martha.

Comments about Saloon: