African Head Charge

Bonji Lyanbinghi Noah

Also known as African Headcharge
Members of African Head Charge: Andy Moses, Bonjo Iyabinghi Noah, Bruce Smith, Eskimo Fox, George Oban, Mus'come, Nick Plytas, Perry Melius, Skip McDonald, Sonny Akpan, Tony "Zap" Edmunds, Tony Phillips (2), Wayne Nunes
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,

Discography of African Head Charge:

# Release title Dwnld Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
51 Songs Of Praise ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 14 Audio 1990 Musidisc
52 Off The Beaten Track ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 9 Audio 1986 On-U Sound
53 Drums Of Defiance ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 8 Audio 1998
54 Akwaaba ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 13 Audio 1995 Acid Jazz
55 Pride And Joy - Live ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 8 Audio 1991 On-U Sound
56 Environmental Studies ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 9 Audio 1997-09-00 Musidisc

Experimental/tribal percussion act with a heavy dub and 'world' music slant led by percussionist [a=Bonjo Iyabinghi Noah].

Has had various members since forming in 1981 but Bonjo I has been a constant feature. Most of the actual music in the early days was written by [a=Adrian Sherwood] and the band was basically a vehicle for his more experimental side for the then fledgling [l=On-U Sound] label.

However, as the band developed throughout the 80's, Bonjo's role became more prominent. By the time of the 5th album, the classic 'Songs Of Praise', he was vocalist as well as main multi-percussion instrumentalist. He also became the primary songwriter. Despite this other writers also became involved, most notably [a=Skip McDonald] of [a=Tackhead].

African Head Charge (with an ever changing line-up) are active to this day and do live shows throughout the world.

Comments about African Head Charge: