Tonton David

David Grammont

Also known as RDG

Discography of Tonton David:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Peuples Du Monde 2 Audio 1990
2 Sûr Et Certain 4 Audio 1994 Delabel
3 Recidiviste 14 Audio 1995 Delabel
4 Peuples Du Monde 4 Audio 1990
5 Vagabond 3 Audio 1996 Delabel
6 A Qui La Faute 2 Audio 1991
7 Fugitif 2 Audio Virgin France
8 Free Demo (Remix) 2 Audio 1993 Virgin France S.A.
9 Le Blues Des Racailles 15 Audio 1991
10 Peuples Du Monde 4 Audio 1990 Virgin France S.A.
11 Recidiviste 14 Audio 1995
12 Le Blues Des Racailles 15 Audio 1991
13 Cash 4 Audio 1992 Delabel
14 Fugitif 2 Audio 1995 Delabel
15 Free Demo 4 Audio 1993 Virgin France S.A.
16 Allez Leur Dire 13 Audio 1994 Delabel
17 Il Marche Seul 4 Audio 1994 Delabel
18 Le Blues Des Racailles 15 Audio 1991 Delabel
19 Sûr Et Certain 2 Audio 1993 Delabel
20 Faut Qu'Ça Arrête 16 Audio 1999 Delabel
21 Free Demo (Remix) 3 Audio 1993
22 Ma Number One 5 Audio 1994 Delabel
23 Pour Tout Le Monde Pareil 2 Audio 1995 Delabel
24 Recidiviste 14 Audio 1995 Delabel
25 Il Marche Seul 2 Audio 1994
26 Faire Face 2 Audio 1999 Delabel

Tonton David is a French Reggae singer born in Réunion. He is renowned for his raggamuffin performances, but uses influences of soul music, gro kâ (from the French West Indies), the Zairian rumba.

Tonton David had a turbulent childhood in a suburb of Paris. He left his family at 14, and managed to make a career in music with powerful and political lyrics. In 1990 Tonton David had his big break when he was featured in a TV report about "Black Paris". Tonton David's performance resulted in signing with Virgin record label. Shortly after, he recorded "Peuples du monde", which was featured on the famous French rap compilation Rapattitudes.

Le blues de la racaille released on 2 December 1991, was his debut album where he explored social issues such as unemployment, poverty, racism, becoming a figurehead for a whole generation of disenchanted French youth. In 1991 he performed in front of an audience of 12,000 music fans at the Fête des Kafs in Saint Denis, La Réunion and in 1992 at Reggae Sunsplash festival in Kingston, Jamaica. In 1993, he released his second album Allez leur dire recorded in Memphis, Tennessee. "Sûr et certain" taken from the album was released as a single. 1995 saw as yet his biggest success with the song "Chacun sa route" from the soundtrack of the film Un indien dans la ville. His third album Récidiviste in 1995 gave the successful singles, "Pour tout le monde pareil" and a collaboration with rai star Cheb Mami in "Fugitifs". The fourth album Faut qu'ça arrête was more influenced by Haitian music out of collaboration with Haitian musician Papa Jube.

Comments about Tonton David: