Somei Satoh

Also known as Satoh Sômei, Sômei Satoh, Somei Sato

Discography of Somei Satoh:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Toward The Night 3 Audio 1993
2 Sun•Moon 3 Audio 1994 New Albion
3 Hymn For The Sun (Works Of Somei Satoh) 3 Audio 1976 ALM Records
4 Mandara Trilogy 3 Audio 1998 New Albion
5 Litania 5 Audio 1988 New Albion
6 Mantra / Stabat Mater 2 Audio 1988 New Albion
7 Hymn For The Sun (Works Of Somei Satoh) 3 Audio 2009-08-00 ALM Records
8 Glimmering Darkness - Works Of Sômei Satoh 4 Audio 1999 Camerata
9 Echoes 2 Audio 2013-12-31 Edition Omega Point
10 Toward The Night 3 Audio 1993 New Albion
11 Sun•Moon 3 Audio 1994 New Albion

Somei Satoh was born in 1947 in Sendai (northern Honshu), Japan. He began his career in 1969 with "Tone Field," an experimental, mixed media group based in Tokyo. In 1972 he produced "Global Vision," a multimedia arts festival, that encompassed musical events, works by visual artists and improvisational performance groups. In one of his most interesting projects held at a hot springs resort in Tochigi Prefecture in 1981, Satoh places eight speakers approximately one kilometer apart on mountain tops overlooking a huge valley. As a man-made fog rose from below, the music from the speakers combined with laser beams and moved the clouds into various formations. Satoh has collaborated twice since 1985 with theater designer, Manuel Luetgenhorst in dramatic stagings of his music at The Arts at St. Ann's in Brooklyn, New York.

Satoh was awarded the Japan Arts Festival prize in 1980 and received a visiting artist grant from the Asian Cultural Council in 1983, enabling him to spend one year in the United States.

He has written more than thirty compositions, including works for piano, orchestra, chamber music, choral and electronic music, theater pieces and music for traditional Japanese instruments.

Comments about Somei Satoh: