Dark Side Cowboys

Also known as Darkside Cowboys, DSC
Members of Dark Side Cowboys: Niklas Carlsson
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://darksidecowboys.com/, http://facebook.com/DarkSideCowboys, http://www.youtube.com/user/DarkSideCowboysSE

Discography of Dark Side Cowboys:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 High - Disclosure Episode II 13 Audio 1999 Nangijala Records
2 Disclosure 15 Audio 1997
3 New Religion 4 Audio 2000 Nangijala Records
4 UnfortuNathalie 6 Audio 1998
5 Pure Hearts EP 5 Audio 1995 M&A Musicart
6 The Apocryphal 13 Audio 1996 Black Flames Productions


A saying about Dark Side Cowboys goes “DSC is a society of artists or fools, the listener’s choice” and that is a pretty good place to start if you want to understand what DSC is all about. The band formed back in 1993 and has been going strong ever since, releasing five studio albums. DSC are considered to be one of Sweden’s finest artists in the alternative-scene and the debut-album “The Apocryphal” is nowadays a rare collectors’ item, a “classic”.

The music itself is hard to categorize and DSC use many different kind of media in order to create the right concepts. Many DSC-releases are made up like soundtracks to films and the dedicated fans can even find scripts or excerpts to the stories, all written by DSC.

DSC have created their own unique sound during the years and the critics have found it hard to file DSC under a certain category. It’s like DSC have created their very own genre, altough most critics claim that their music have belonged in the “alternative” category – related to gothic/metal/synth/industrial sounds.

Between 1995 and 2003 DSC released 6 studio albums, a number of singles and contributed to loads of compilations. Most well known release is probably the “Believe” album containing the “New Religion” single, even though many still favour the debutalbum. The band also played live frequently.

In 2012 the Cowboys suddenly returned from the prairie with a new lineup and played live in Sweden and Finland for the first time since 2006.

Rumour has it (writing march 2013) that a new album is on it's way...

Comments about Dark Side Cowboys: