Evil Ed (2)

Ed Britsch

Also known as DJ Evil Ed
This performer (group) in the Internet: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Evil-Ed/175810955797910?ref=stream&hc_location=stream, Array, https://soundcloud.com/dustyplatter

Discography of Evil Ed (2):

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 The Tournament Round 1 6 Audio 2000 YNR Productions
2 Alright, All Good, OK / Everyman 6 Audio 2003 Janomi
3 The Tournament Round 2 6 Audio 2002 Hidden Identity Productions
4 Nico Suave / Weed 4 Audio 2004 Janomi
5 UK Files Vol. 1 16 Audio 2004 Hidden Identity Productions
6 Live From Caesar's Palace 41 Audio 2005 Playing Around
7 The Enthusiast 20 Audio 2004 Janomi
8 The Enthusiast 21 Audio 2004 Janomi
9 Alright, All Good, OK / Everyman 2 Audio 2003 Janomi
10 The Get Together 15 Audio 2008 Ottoman Elf
11 Edstrumentals Vol.1 20 Audio 2008 Ottoman Elf
12 UK Files Vol. 1 16 Audio 2001 Legendary Ent.
13 The Tournament Round 1 6 Audio 2000 YNR Productions
14 Soliloquy Ode E.P. 7 Audio 1998 Buggin' Out Recordings
15 Midnight Mathematics 5 Audio 2009 Project: Mooncircle
16 Edstrumentals Vol.2 20 Audio 2010 Chakra Sounds
17 It's A K.O./Razor Blades Remix 4 Audio 2010-11-18 Chakra Sounds
18 Time You Knew/Experts 4 Audio 2010-12-31 Chakra Sounds
19 Nico Suave / Weed 4 Audio 2004 Janomi
20 Live From Outer Space 50 Audio 2006 Playing Around
21 Edstrumentals Vol.3 20 Audio 2014-02-10 Dusty Platter
22 Urbanindustry.co.uk VS DJ Evil Ed 22 Audio 2007 Urban Industry

Evil Ed is a Hip Hop DJ/producer from the UK who has been collecting Hip Hop records and DJing since 1985 and making beats since the early 1990's. His first production and cuts on vinyl appeared on the 'Blunted Bumpkin Buskers' EP by Hidden Identity in 1994. In 1998 he worked alongside brothers Makif and Nebuchadnezzar on the "Soliloquy Ode" EP. Also in 1998 Ed teamed up with YNR Productions and contributed beats towards their first vinyl release, Jehst's debut "Premonitions" EP. Ed worked on the first few releases on the YNR label including his own debut EP "The Tournament Round One" which featured Task Force and Jehst.

Around this time Ed also worked on early releases by The Microdisiacs, Junior Disprol and also Bristol's Aspects, remixing their collaboration with Quantic, "Primate Boogaloo" for the Tru Thoughts label. Ed started his own HID Productions label in 2002 and released his own "Tournament Round Two" EP, which featured an early vinyl appearance from Yungun, and later released a handful of 7" and 12" singles.

Ed's debut LP "The Enthusiast" was released on the Janomi label in 2004 and featured the cream of UK Hip Hop talent including Kyza, Doc Brown, The Colony, Yungun and Ricochet from Universal Soldiers, Australia's A-Love and turntablists Mr Thing, DJ Skully, DJ Woody, DJ IQ, DJ Ideal and Eddie Skratch. Whilst working on "The Enthusiast" in his studio, The Busker's Corner, he also produced the Beatles sampling 'In My Life' for Doc Brown and recorded and mixed the Universal Soldiers debut LP "Slanguage" for the Tongue Tied label.

Ed has been working with London based crew The Colony since 2003 and has contributed production for many of their releases, most notably those of Conspicuous (Cons) including the singles "Write A Song For Me" feat. Shameless and "Focussed" featuring UK soul legend Shaun Escoffery. In 2007 Ed also produced the track "Can You Hear It?!" for the "The Family Photo Album" by Conspicuous on Sit Tight Records and "Field Of Dreams" for Asaviour's "Borrowed Ladder" LP on Lowlife Records.

Ed produced tracks for Ric Branson's "No Pressure" CD on Grand Vision in 2007 and shortly after also released "The Get Together" album with Conspicuous and the "Edstrumentals Vol.1" CD on Ottomanelf Music.

Ed has released records and live mix CD's with turntablist K-Delight on the Playin' Around label as well as a number of solo mix CD's. Following a remix for Obba Supa on Berlin's Project Mooncircle label in 2009 Ed started a new label with Obba Supa producer/MC Hey! Zeus called Chakra Sounds. 'Edstrumentals Vol.2' dropped as a digital release in late 2010.

Ed has worked on a string of remixes from 2010 to the present, including the Galaktus Remix 45 by Kashmere (Strange Universe) for Boot Records and a remix of 'Beattape' for Aspects (originally produced by DJ Format). Both of these have dropped on Ltd. Edition 7" vinyl. Ed continues to produce and remix for other artists while spending time on his own material and has added cuts to tracks by Melanin 9, Cyrus Malachi and Triple Darkness amongst others. Ed drops a mix of classic Hip Hop and original breaks for the Dusty Platter blog every two months (see the link below).

Comments about Evil Ed (2):