Unto Ashes

Michael Laird, Natalia Lincoln, Mariko

Members of Unto Ashes: Ericah Hagle, Kit Messick, Michael Laird, Natalia Lincoln, Sarah M. Newman
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.untoashes.com, http://www.myspace.com/untoashes

Discography of Unto Ashes:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Moon Oppose Moon 13 Audio 2000-09-12
2 Saturn Return 15 Audio 2001-06-19 Projekt
3 Empty Into White 19 Audio 2003-07-08 Projekt
4 I Cover You With Blood 6 Audio 2004 Projekt
5 Grave Blessings 15 Audio 2005 Projekt
6 Songs For A Widow 15 Audio 2006 Projekt
7 One World One Sky (Club Mix) / The Life Of This World 2 Audio 2006 Projekt
8 Moon Oppose Moon 13 Audio 1999 Dying Time
9 Empty Into White 16 Audio 2004 Kalinkaland Records
10 Forever Sick 4 Audio 2000 Dying Time

The post-punk foursome Unto Ashes molds elements of folk and electronic for a healthy dose of darkwave mystery, and its Arabic hums are intricate and complex for a vivid imagery of wordplay. Sometimes Unto Ashes are compared to the likes of [a=Depeche Mode], [a=Dead Can Dance], or the Rachels, but the band does cast there own kind of gothic romance. They independently released their self-titled debut in 1997 and continued to play various festival dates and appear on countless goth rock oriented compilations throughout the late '90s. They followed up with the sophomore effort Moon Oppose Moon in October 1999, and the limited edition Forever Sick EP was issued the following Spring. In July 2000, Unto Ashes inked a deal with [l=Projekt] and Moon Oppose Moon was re-released in September. Saturn Return appeared in summer 2001.

Following a very successful 2006 European Tour opening for Germany’s darkwave / neo-Medieval gods [a=Qntal], two former members of Unto Ashes emigrated to Germany, where they are now recording with members of [a=Estampie] and [a=Helium Vola].

Comments about Unto Ashes: