Also known as Металлика, Metalmilitia, Mettallica
Members of Metallica: Cliff Burton, Dave Mustaine, James Hetfield, Jason Newsted, Kirk Hammett, Lars Ulrich, Lloyd Grant, Robert Trujillo, Ron McGovney
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,,,,,,,,

Discography of Metallica:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
101 Whiskey In The Jar 6 Audio 1999-02-22
102 The $5.98 E.P. Garage Days Re-Revisited 5 Audio 1987-08-21 Mercury
103 Kill 'Em All 12 Audio 1988 Elektra
104 One 3 Audio 1994 Vertigo
105 The Memory Remains 2 Audio 1997-11-10 Vertigo
106 Limited-Edition Vinyl Box Set 49 Audio 2004-11-00 Rhino Records (2)
107 Creeping Death (Special Anniversary Edition) 3 Audio 1984-11-00 Music For Nations
108 The Memory Remains 2 Audio 1997-11-00
109 The Unforgiven II 3 Audio 1997 Vertigo
110 ...And Justice For All 9 Audio 1988-09-06
111 Ride The Lightning 8 Audio 1989 Vertigo
112 Kingdom And Eternity 8 Audio 1994
113 ...Live For All 19 Audio 1988 Bud Records Inc.
114 Live At San Diego 1992 27 Audio 2005 Falcon Neue Medien
115 The Unnamed Feeling 2 Audio 2003 Vertigo
116 Eye Of The Beholder 2 Audio 1988 Elektra
117 One 2 Audio 1988 Elektra
118 Ride The Lightning 8 Audio 2005 Bernett Records (2)
119 Wherever We May Roam Tour 91/92 10 Audio 1993 Magic Mushrooms Records
120 Fuck In´ Peoria 13 Audio 1992 Metal Mess
121 Wherever I May Roam 3 Audio 1992 Vertigo
122 Master Of Puppets 8 Audio 1986-03-00
123 Load 14 Audio 1996-06-00 Vertigo
124 St. Anger 22 Audio Vertigo
125 Live At Wembley Stadium 3 Audio 1992-04-00 Vertigo
126 ...And Justice For All 9 Audio 1988-08-23 Elektra
127 The Ultimate Rarities 14 Audio 1997 Not On Label (Metallica)
128 St. Anger 24 Audio 2003-06-10 Elektra
129 St. Anger 2 Audio 2003
130 The Unnamed Feeling 2 Audio 2003 Vertigo
131 Kill 'Em All 10 Audio 1993 Vertigo
132 Ride The Lightning 8 Audio 1993 Vertigo
133 Master Of Puppets 8 Audio 1993 Vertigo
134 ...And Justice For All 9 Audio 1993 Vertigo
135 Metallica 12 Audio 1993 Vertigo
136 Metallica 13 Audio 1991-08-29 Sony Records
137 Load 14 Audio 1996-06-01 Sony Records
138 Reload 13 Audio 1997 Sony Records
139 Nothing Else Matters 3 Audio 1991 Elektra
140 Wherever I May Roam 3 Audio 1993-02-21 Sony Records
141 Wherever I May Roam 3 Audio 1992 Elektra
142 The Unforgiven 3 Audio 1991 Elektra
143 Sad But True 3 Audio 1992 Vertigo
144 Enter Sandman 3 Audio 1991 Elektra
145 Mama Said 6 Audio 1996 Sony Records
146 The Unforgiven II 4 Audio 1998
147 I Disappear 2 Audio 2000-07-26 Hollywood Records
148 One (Live) 4 Audio 1993 Vertigo
149 Wherever I May Roam 2 Audio 1992 Vertigo
150 The Memory Remains 6 Audio 1997-12-26 Sony Records

Metallica is an American heavy metal band from Los Angeles, California, formed in 1981 by vocalist/guitarist James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich. The duo first met through an ad in a Los Angeles-based music newspaper. At the time, Ulrich had little musical experience and no band but managed to secure a slot on an upcoming compilation record called “Metal Massacre”. Metallica’s contribution, “Hit The Lights”, featured Hetfield, Ulrich and lead guitarist Lloyd Grant. Afterwards, Ron McGovney became the band's bassist and Dave Mustaine joined the band as lead guitarist. This line-up would re-record "Hit The Lights" for subsequent re-pressings of "Metal Massacre" and would also issue several demos. In 1983, McGovney quit the group and was replaced by Cliff Burton, which also saw the band relocate to San Francisco. Metallica then traveled to New York after signing a deal with [l=Megaforce Records]. However, once in New York, the band fired Mustaine. It would mark the beginning of a long feud between Mustaine and Metallica, mostly fueled by remarks Mustaine would make to the press. Mustaine was replaced by Kirk Hammett of [a=Exodus (6)].

Metallica's debut LP, "Kill 'Em All", was released in 1983. It was followed in 1984 by "Ride The Lightning". This led to a major label deal with [l=Elektra]. In 1986, the band released "Master Of Puppets", which is considered by many to be one of the greatest heavy metal records of all time. In September of that year, while on tour in Sweden, the band was involved in a bus accident which took the life of Cliff Burton. Eventually, Jason Newsted (of [a=Flotsam And Jetsam]) was hired as the band's new bassist and he made his debut on 1987's "Garage Days Re-Revisited", an EP of cover tunes.

In 1990, Metallica hooked up with producer [a=Bob Rock] for a self-titled release that would become better known as "The Black Album", due to its cover art. Released in 1991, the black album would become one of the best-selling rock albums of all time, selling over 16 million copies in the US alone.

In 1996, the band returned with "Load". The following year, "Reload" appeared. The albums continued the band’s trend of more accessible music. In 1999, the group released an album and accompanying film called "S&M", which featured Metallica performing their songs with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra.

In 2001, as the band was preparing to begin work on a new album, Newsted quit the group, citing personal and musical reasons. Work on the new album was further complicated when Hetfield entered rehab for alcohol abuse. The album, called "St. Anger", was eventually completed in 2003 with producer Bob Rock handling the bass. Upon its release, "St. Anger" drew mostly negative reviews. Following the recording, Robert Trujillo, formerly of [a=Suicidal Tendencies], was hired as bassist. The making of the album was captured in the documentary “Some Kind Of Monster”.

In 2008, "Death Magnetic", produced by [a=Rick Rubin], would surface and was hailed by many as Metallica's return to thrash metal. The following year, Metallica was inducted into Rock And Roll Hall of Fame. Former bassist Jason Newsted was present and Cliff Burton's father appeared on Cliff's behalf. Dave Mustaine, who was not inducted, was invited to the ceremony by the band but declined to attend. In 2011, Metallica collaborated with [a=Lou Reed] on the album, “Lulu”, which was largely panned by critics and ignored by consumers.

Comments about Metallica: