Also known as Металлика, Metalmilitia, Mettallica
Members of Metallica: Cliff Burton, Dave Mustaine, James Hetfield, Jason Newsted, Kirk Hammett, Lars Ulrich, Lloyd Grant, Robert Trujillo, Ron McGovney
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,,,,,,,,

Discography of Metallica:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
51 Metallica 12 Audio 2000 Simply Vinyl
52 Live Shit: Binge & Purge 67 Audio 1993-11-09 Elektra
53 Until It Sleeps 3 Audio 1996-05-00
54 Whiplash 4 Audio 1983-08-08 Megaforce Records
55 Until It Sleeps 6 Audio 1996-07-03 Sony Records
56 Hero Of The Day 4 Audio 1996
57 Mama Said 2 Audio 1996 Vertigo
58 Load 34 Audio 1996
59 Sad But True 4 Audio 1993 Vertigo
60 Creeping Death / Jump In The Fire 6 Audio 1990 Vertigo
61 Ride The Lightning 8 Audio 1986-11-18 Elektra
62 $19.98 Home Vid Cliff 'Em All! 12 Audio 1988 PolyGram Music Video
63 The Unforgiven 4 Audio 1991-11-00
64 Master Of Puppets 8 Audio 1989 Vertigo
65 Whiskey In The Jar 3 Audio 1999-02-01
66 Enter Sandman 3 Audio 1991 Vertigo
67 The Unforgiven 3 Audio 1991
68 Wherever I May Roam 3 Audio 1992
69 Woodstock 1994 14 Audio 1994 Live Tribe
70 One 3 Audio 1994 Vertigo
71 Jump In The Fire 5 Audio 1984-01-00
72 Master Of Puppets 8 Audio 1986-03-00 Elektra
73 Nothing Else Matters 4 Audio 1992-04-20
74 St. Anger 11 Audio 2003 Vertigo
75 Garage Inc. 32 Audio 1998-11-24 Elektra
76 One 3 Audio 1989
77 Ride The Lightning 8 Audio 1984-07-00 Music For Nations
78 Some Kind Of Monster 9 Audio 2004-07-13 Elektra
79 St. Anger 11 Audio 2003-06-06 Vertigo
80 Turn The Page 4 Audio 1998-11-16 Vertigo
81 Sad But True 4 Audio 1993
82 Until It Sleeps 3 Audio 1996
83 Enter Sandman 2 Audio 1991 Vertigo
84 One 2 Audio 1988 Elektra
85 The Unforgiven 2 Audio 1991
86 Jump In The Fire 3 Audio 1990
87 Creeping Death / Jump In The Fire 6 Audio 1990 Vertigo
88 Enter Sandman 4 Audio 1991-07-29
89 Kill 'Em All 10 Audio 1983-07-00 Music For Nations
90 Metallica 12 Audio 1991-08-00 Vertigo
91 The Memory Remains 3 Audio 1997-11-10
92 Fuel 4 Audio 1998-06-00 Vertigo
93 Whiskey In The Jar 3 Audio 1999-02-01
94 Whiskey In The Jar 3 Audio 1999-02-01
95 St. Anger 22 Audio 2003 Vertigo
96 Blindman's Ball 14 Audio 1997 Ambush Records
97 Creeping Death 3 Audio 1984 Music For Nations
98 S&M 21 Audio 1999 Vertigo
99 Nothing Else Matters 4 Audio 1992 Vertigo
100 Kill 'Em All 10 Audio 1989 Vertigo

Metallica is an American heavy metal band from Los Angeles, California, formed in 1981 by vocalist/guitarist James Hetfield and drummer Lars Ulrich. The duo first met through an ad in a Los Angeles-based music newspaper. At the time, Ulrich had little musical experience and no band but managed to secure a slot on an upcoming compilation record called “Metal Massacre”. Metallica’s contribution, “Hit The Lights”, featured Hetfield, Ulrich and lead guitarist Lloyd Grant. Afterwards, Ron McGovney became the band's bassist and Dave Mustaine joined the band as lead guitarist. This line-up would re-record "Hit The Lights" for subsequent re-pressings of "Metal Massacre" and would also issue several demos. In 1983, McGovney quit the group and was replaced by Cliff Burton, which also saw the band relocate to San Francisco. Metallica then traveled to New York after signing a deal with [l=Megaforce Records]. However, once in New York, the band fired Mustaine. It would mark the beginning of a long feud between Mustaine and Metallica, mostly fueled by remarks Mustaine would make to the press. Mustaine was replaced by Kirk Hammett of [a=Exodus (6)].

Metallica's debut LP, "Kill 'Em All", was released in 1983. It was followed in 1984 by "Ride The Lightning". This led to a major label deal with [l=Elektra]. In 1986, the band released "Master Of Puppets", which is considered by many to be one of the greatest heavy metal records of all time. In September of that year, while on tour in Sweden, the band was involved in a bus accident which took the life of Cliff Burton. Eventually, Jason Newsted (of [a=Flotsam And Jetsam]) was hired as the band's new bassist and he made his debut on 1987's "Garage Days Re-Revisited", an EP of cover tunes.

In 1990, Metallica hooked up with producer [a=Bob Rock] for a self-titled release that would become better known as "The Black Album", due to its cover art. Released in 1991, the black album would become one of the best-selling rock albums of all time, selling over 16 million copies in the US alone.

In 1996, the band returned with "Load". The following year, "Reload" appeared. The albums continued the band’s trend of more accessible music. In 1999, the group released an album and accompanying film called "S&M", which featured Metallica performing their songs with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra.

In 2001, as the band was preparing to begin work on a new album, Newsted quit the group, citing personal and musical reasons. Work on the new album was further complicated when Hetfield entered rehab for alcohol abuse. The album, called "St. Anger", was eventually completed in 2003 with producer Bob Rock handling the bass. Upon its release, "St. Anger" drew mostly negative reviews. Following the recording, Robert Trujillo, formerly of [a=Suicidal Tendencies], was hired as bassist. The making of the album was captured in the documentary “Some Kind Of Monster”.

In 2008, "Death Magnetic", produced by [a=Rick Rubin], would surface and was hailed by many as Metallica's return to thrash metal. The following year, Metallica was inducted into Rock And Roll Hall of Fame. Former bassist Jason Newsted was present and Cliff Burton's father appeared on Cliff's behalf. Dave Mustaine, who was not inducted, was invited to the ceremony by the band but declined to attend. In 2011, Metallica collaborated with [a=Lou Reed] on the album, “Lulu”, which was largely panned by critics and ignored by consumers.

Comments about Metallica: