Thanos Chrysakis

This performer (group) in the Internet:

Discography of Thanos Chrysakis:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Inscapes 3 Audio 2005-05-22 CONV
2 Errant Waves 7 Audio 2005-12-02 Test Tube
3 Is There, Is There Not? 8 Audio 2006 Alg-a
4 Klage 9 Audio 2007 Aural Terrains
5 ΠΑΡΑΛΛΑΞΙΣ / Parállaxis 6 Audio 2011-01-00 Aural Terrains
6 A Scar In The Air 6 Audio 2008 Aural Terrains
7 Instant-Cascade-Distant 5 Audio 2009 Aural Terrains
8 ENANTIO_ΔΡΟΜΙΑ 6 Audio 2009 Aural Terrains
9 Subterranean Sky 5 Audio 2010 Aural Terrains
10 VERTEX 4 Audio 2011-06-00 Aural Terrains
11 Knotted Alembic 7 Audio 2011-11-00 Aural Terrains
12 Numen 6 Audio 2012 Aural Terrains
13 Magnetic River 5 Audio 2012-10-30 Aural Terrains
14 SYNEUMA 5 Audio 2012-10-30 Aural Terrains
15 ΕΚΝΗΨΙΣ 3 Audio 2012-12-21 Aural Terrains
16 Zafiros En El Barro 7 Audio 2013-09-20 Aural Terrains
17 GARNET SKEIN 6 Audio 2013-12-27 Aural Terrains

Thanos Chrysakis’ output consists of composition, performance, and installation. He was born in Athens in 1971, residing in the UK since 1998. With several albums to his name his work has also appeared in festivals and events in several countries; to name but a few : CYNETart Festival, Festspielhaus Hellerau – Dresden, Academy of Arts / M:AI (Museum für Architektur und Ingenieurkunst NRW)– Berlin, Diapason Gallery – New York, XXII “Sound Ways” International New Music Festival – St Petersburg, Artus Contemporary Arts Studio – Budapest, CRUCE Gallery – Madrid, Fylkingen – Stockholm, Relative (Cross) Hearings festival – Budapest, ZEPPELIN festival – Barcelona, Festival de Música Contemporanea “Ramiro Guerra” – Monterrey, Störung festival – Barcelona, BMIC Cutting Edge concert series - The Warehouse – London . It has also received airplay -among others- by RAI radio 3, BBC radio 3, Radio Portugal Antenna 2, Radio Nacional de España, FM Brussel, Polskie Radio (Warsaw), Elektramusic (Strasbourg), and Onda Sonora - Radio Circulo de Bellas Artes (CBA) (Madrid). He composes for electronics, acoustic instruments and environmental sounds, focusing on the structural and aesthetic capacity of sonic matter. His work was amongst the selected works at the International Competition de Musique et d'Art Sonore Electroacoustiques de Bourges 2005, in the category œuvre d'art sonore électroacoustique, while received an honorary mention in 2006 at the 7th International Electroacoustic Competition Musica Viva in Lisbon. Recent compositions include: ΕΚΝΗΨΙΣ (Aural Terrains 2012), ΜΑΓΜΑ (Monochrome Vision 2011) Subterranean Sky (Aural Terrains 2010), Milieu Interieur I/II (for Chris Cundy [solo bass and contra-bass clarinet] 2012), EIRMOS I / II (for Wilfrido Terrazas [solo flute/bass flute] 2011), ERRINA (for Alexander Bruck [solo viola] 2011). His current performing projects are: a Trio with Wade Matthews and Dario Bernal-Villegas, and the trio 'Syneuma' with James O’Sullivan and Jerry Wigens.

Current and upcoming projects for 2012-13 include a residency at Visby centre for composers in Sweden, a series of compositions for Chris Cundy (bass and contrabass clarinet), Jason Adler (bass clarinet), Wilfrido Terrazas (flutes), Kate Ryder (piano), Claire Chase (bass flute), Natalia Pérez Turner (cello), Tzenka Dianova (piano), and Dana Jessen (bassoon).

Comments about Thanos Chrysakis: