Lake Trout

Members of Lake Trout: Ed Harris (4), James Griffith, Matthew Pierce (2), Michael Lowry, Woody Ranere
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,

Discography of Lake Trout:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 On My Way To Work 2 Audio 1998 Shaken Not Stirred
2 Sounds From Below (The Memnon Mixes) 2 Audio Shaken Not Stirred
3 Sounds From Below (Charles Dockins Mix) 2 Audio Shaken Not Stirred
4 Another One Lost 13 Audio 2003-08-05
5 I Riddle 4 Audio 2005 RX Records
6 Alone At Last 12 Audio 2000 Phoenix Music
7 E.P. 4 Audio
8 Street Fighting Man 2 Audio 2005 RX Records
9 Volume For The Rest Of It 16 Audio 1998 SNS Records
10 Not Them, You 16 Audio 2005 RX Records

Lake Trout are a rock band based in Baltimore. Their music is a combination of rock, ambient, jazz, and many other styles, including influences from post-rock and post-punk. The band has released six albums since its inception, four in-studio and two live. Their most recent album entitled "Live" was released in December 2008.

Lake Trout consists of:

* James Griffith, bass, guitar, vocals

* Ed Harris, guitar, bass, vocals

* Mike Lowry, drums

* Matt Pierce, keyboards, saxophone, flute, vocals

* Woody Ranere, lead vocals and guitar

Lake Trout first came together in 1994. Their first album is self-titled and consists of eight songs with a heavy dose of jazz. It was released independently in 1997. The band's second album, released in 1998, is also on SNS Records. Volume for the Rest of It consists of 16 tracks total and has a more developed feel.

Lake Trout's third album, Alone at Last - Live with DJ Who is a live album and was recorded on December 9, 1999 at Traxx in Charlottesville, Virginia. It was released by Phoenix Rising Records. This album, as would be expected with the addition of a DJ, has a much more electronic sound. It has a slightly darker feel than the previous two records and incorporates elements of drum and bass music into the sound.

With the release of their fourth album, Another One Lost (2003, released by Palm/RX Records), the band made a decided shift towards a more indie rock-oriented sound. The relationship between the "new sound" and the "old sound" is clearly evident, but the shift is obvious. Some fans lament this change in the band's sound, preferring the more jazz-oriented earlier work. Many enjoy the change, however, seeing a clear progression in the band's sound.

On September 13, 2005, the band released their most recent album, Not Them, You on Palm/RX Records. This album continues with the evolution of the "new sound."

In December 2008, the band released a live album containing songs from the groups live set that had not been previously recorded as well as select songs from the most recent two studio albums.

Comments about Lake Trout: