Lawrence Weiner

Also known as L. Weiner, Lawrence Wiener, LCW, Weiner
This performer (group) in the Internet:

Discography of Lawrence Weiner:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Deutsche Angst 2 Audio 1982 Les Disques Du Crépuscule
2 Remixed Water 8 Audio 2004 Book Works
3 Ships At Sea, Sailors & Shoes 9 Audio 1993 Excellent Records (2)
4 Monsters From The Deep 11 Audio 1997 Triple Earth
5 Having Been Built On Sand 8 Audio 1978 Rüdiger Schöttle
6 Niets Aan Verloren / Nothing To Lose 2 Audio 1976 Van Abbemuseum
7 Ships At Sea, Sailors & Shoes 10 Audio 1993 Excellent Records (2)
8 Having Been Done At / Having Been Done To - Essendo Stato Fatto A 2 Audio 1973 Sperone Gian Enzo & Fischer Konrad
9 Ships At Sea, Sailors & Shoes 10 Audio 1993 Triple Earth

American conceptual artist, born 10 February 1942 in the Bronx, New York, USA.

His artistic statement of intent (1968) read:

(1) The artist may construct the piece.

(2) The piece may be fabricated.

(3) The piece may not be built.

As the work is the idea, and the implementation of the idea not Weiner's task, then each work discovers its voice upon installation, its audience deciding its meaning.

His prime form is wall installations, although he has worked in video, film, books, audio tapes, sculpture, performance, installation, and graphic art. His focus is on words in a simple bold typeface; language as art. Punctuation and graphical devices are used to articulate, in a direct manner, statements as abstractions. These works are seldom site-specific so can be given new interpretations with each location and with the choice of medium.

[b]Nb:[/b] not to be confused with the composer Lawrence Weiner, who was born in 1932.

Comments about Lawrence Weiner: