Chilla Frauste

Anthony Christian

Also known as Cool Chilla' Frauste

Discography of Chilla Frauste:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Get Up, Get Down, Get Funky, Get Loose 2 Audio 1989 Miami Street
2 Get Off 2 Audio 1988 Miami Street
3 Get Off 2 Audio 1989 Miami Street
4 Don't Fight The Feeling 12 Audio 1989 Vision Records (4)
5 Bed Time Stories 9 Audio 1988 JU-ICE Records
6 Bed Time Stories 2 Audio 1989 Suntown Records

Chilla Frauste was a Miami Bass/Hip-Hop artist active in the late 1980s. Under contract with Suntown records owner Edward Meriwether, Chilla released the single “Bedtime Stories” in 1987, credited to Chilla Frauste and The Ice Cold Crew. Lyrically, the song was in the story-telling vein of Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince and featured a short sample of Nu Shooz’ top 40 hit “I Can’t Wait”.

This made little impact, but was followed by the uptempo Bass/Club track “Get Up, Get Down, Get Funky, Get Loose” in 1988. The track was built on a Teddy Pendergrass sample and featured an uncredited DJ Magic Mike on cuts. It made a minor mark in the South Florida club market upon its release, but has since gained much more noteriety with time, becoming the track most identify Chilla with today.

In 1989, Chilla returned to the drawing board with a remake of Foxy’s Disco hit “Get Off”. This paved the way for a full-length album in 1990, which was released on Vision Records, yet still funded by Suntown Records’ Edward Meriwether. The album garnered little attention and Chilla faded into obscurity afterwards.

Often, production and writing credits are gratuitously given to Meriwether on Chilla’s releases to control publishing rights.

Comments about Chilla Frauste: