Also known as Dark Throne, Dark-Throne, Mighty Darkthrone
Members of Darkthrone: Dag Nilsen, Gylve Nagell, Ivar Enger, Ted Skjellum
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.darkthrone.no/, http://www.myspace.com/officialdarkthrone

Discography of Darkthrone:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Panzerfaust 7 Audio 1995 Moonfog Productions
2 A Blaze In The Northern Sky 6 Audio 1994 Peaceville
3 Transilvanian Hunger 8 Audio 1994 Fierce Recordings (2)
4 Under A Funeral Moon 8 Audio 1994 Peaceville
5 Transilvanian Hunger 10 Audio 2003 Peaceville
6 Total Death 10 Audio 1996
7 Total Death 8 Audio 1996-01-15 Moonfog Productions
8 Panzerfaust 7 Audio 1995-06-06
9 Goatlord 10 Audio 1996
10 Soulside Journey 11 Audio 1994 Peaceville
11 Soulside Journey 13 Audio 2003 Peaceville
12 Ravishing Grimness 6 Audio Moonfog Productions
13 Plaguewielder 6 Audio 2001-09-10
14 Hate Them 7 Audio 2003-03-17 Moonfog Productions
15 Sardonic Wrath 9 Audio 2004-09-06 Moonfog Productions
16 Transilvanian Hunger 8 Audio 1994-02-17
17 Plaguewielder 6 Audio 2001-09-10
18 Hate Them 7 Audio 2003
19 Sardonic Wrath 9 Audio 2004 Moonfog Productions
20 A Blaze In The Northern Sky 8 Audio 2003 Peaceville
21 Under A Funeral Moon 10 Audio 2003 Peaceville
22 Soulside Journey 10 Audio 1991 Peaceville
23 A Blaze In The Northern Sky 6 Audio 1992-03-02 Peaceville
24 Under A Funeral Moon 8 Audio 1993-06-00 Peaceville
25 Land Of Frost / Thulcandra / Cromlech / Reh. Track 11 Audio 2000 Black Witchery Records
26 In The Shadow Of The Horns 2 Audio 1996 Pagan Fears Productions
27 Transilvanian Hunger 8 Audio 1994 Modern Invasion Music
28 Ravishing Grimness 6 Audio 2003 Moonfog Productions
29 Preparing For War 15 Audio 2000-11-06
30 The Roots Of Evilness - Live 14 Audio 1997 Agustin Records
31 A Night Of Unholy Black Metal 17 Audio 2000 Not On Label (Darkthrone)
32 Evil Past 9 Audio 2001 Moonfag
33 The True Legends In Black 9 Audio 2000
34 The Cult Is Alive 12 Audio 2006-02-27
35 Transilvanian Hunger 8 Audio 2005 Back On Black
36 A Blaze In The Northern Sky 6 Audio 2005 Back On Black
37 Too Old Too Cold 4 Audio 2006-01-23
38 A Blaze In The Northern Sky 6 Audio 2001
39 Under A Funeral Moon 8 Audio 2005 Back On Black
40 Plaguewielder 6 Audio 2001 Mystic Production
41 A Blaze In The Northern Sky 6 Audio 1997 Megarock
42 A Blaze In The Northern Sky 6 Audio 1992
43 Panzerfaust 7 Audio 2006-02-21 Moonfog Productions
44 Hate Them 7 Audio 2003
45 A Blaze In The Northern Sky 6 Audio 1992 Metal Mind Records
46 Under A Funeral Moon 8 Audio 1996 Metal Mind Records
47 Transilvanian Hunger 8 Audio 1996 Metal Mind Records
48 Ravishing Grimness 6 Audio 1999 Mystic Production
49 Land Of Frost / Unholy Rehearsal '92 14 Audio Not On Label (Darkthrone)
50 NWOBHM (New Wave Of Black Heavy Metal) 4 Audio 2007-09-10

Darkthrone are a Heavy Metal band from Kolbotn, Norway. Most well known for their involvement and contribution to the Norwegian Black Metal scene, the bands sound has diversified over their career to include elements of traditional, thrash, death and speed metal, as well as crust punk.

Originally called [A=Black Death (8)], the band formed in 1986 releasing two demos ('Trash Core '87' and 'Black Is Beautiful' in 1987). The band renamed themselves Darkthrone, a name inspired by the title of the Danish 'zine 'Blackthorn' (1985/86) and also the lyrics of the Celtic Frost song 'Jewel Throne'.

Darkthrone proceeded to record four demos between 1988 and 1989 named 'Land Of Frost', 'A New Dimension', 'Thulcandra' and 'Cromlech' before creating a full-length album in 1991 titled 'Soulside Journey', influenced by bands such as Nocturnus (demo era), Autopsy and Morbid Angel (Ted also cites Death's 'Scream Bloody Gore' album as the primary inspiration for his solos).

Following this album, the band recorded rehearsal material which would later be released in 1997 as the full-length album 'Goatlord' with the addition of vocals recorded in 1994.

Their second album to be released 'A Blaze In The Northern Sky' (recorded August 1991, released 1992) exhibited the band's departure from death metal and embrace of the black metal style being pioneered at the time by their Norwegian peers Mayhem, this becoming further apparent with their following releases: 'Under A Funeral Moon' (recorded summer 1992, released early 1993) and 'Transilvanian Hunger' (released in 1994).

After moving to the Norwegian label Moonfog productions, the band then released their fifth album 'Panzerfaust' in 1995. The instrumental performances were all handled by Fenriz on this record (likewise for 'Transylvanian Hunger'), the riffs particularly demonstrated their strong Celtic Frost influence (greatly apparent on songs such as 'Triumphant Gleam' and 'The Hordes Of Nebulah').

Their next releases with Moonfog included 'Total Death' (1996), 'Ravishing Grimness' (1999), 'Plaguewielder' (2001), 'Hate Them' (2003) and 'Sardonic Wrath' (2004).

With Sardonic Wrath as their last released on Moonfog, the band then moved to their own label Tyrant syndicate productions (a sub-label of Peaceville).

Their first release under Tyrant syndicate was the record 'The Cult Is Alive'(2006) named after a lyric from the song 'Sphinx' by the German Black metal band Poison: "I feel the cult is alive...".

In July 2007, Darkthrone released their second EP, 'NWOBHM' (New Wave Of Black Heavy Metal), as a preview of the material to appear on the next record released September the same year: 'F.O.A.D' (Fuck Off And Die), an album which continued to draw inspiration from punk yet also included more heavy metal influence.

'Darkthrones And Blackflags' was released in 2008, a continuation of the metal/punk crossover style exuded on 'F.O.A.D.', while their next record, 'Circle The Wagons' (2010), contains even more heavy metal/speed metal influence; notably bands such as Agent Steel, Nuclear Assault and Manilla Road.

In 2013 the band released the album 'The Underground Resistance', which continues to draw influences from 1980's heavy metal and proto-thrash.

The band are renowned for recording in their own studio/rehearsal space in Norway and their refusal to work as a touring band.

Comments about Darkthrone: