Also known as Mestres Misfits, Misfits, The, The Misfits
Members of Misfits: Arthur Googy, Bobby Steele, David Calabrese, Dez Cadena, Eric "Goat" Arce, Frank LiCata, Glenn Anzalone, Jerry Caiafa, Jim Catania, Joey Image, Manny, Marc Bell, Michale Graves, Myke Hideous, Paul Caiafa, Robo (3)
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.misfits.com/, http://www.misfitscentral.com/, http://www.onethirtyeight.com/

Discography of Misfits:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Collection II 20 Audio 1996-04-00
2 Walk Among Us 13 Audio 2000-10-17
3 Misfits 20 Audio 1988-10-00 Plan 9
4 Walk Among Us 13 Audio 1988-07-00 Ruby Records
5 Cough / Cool 2 Audio 1977-08-00 Blank Records (US)
6 Bullet 4 Audio 1978-06-00 Plan 9
7 Horror Business 3 Audio 1979-06-26 Plan 9
8 Night Of The Living Dead 3 Audio 1979-10-31 Plan 9
9 Beware 7 Audio 1980-01-00 Plan 9
10 3 Hits From Hell 3 Audio 1981-04-00 Plan 9
11 Legacy Of Brutality 13 Audio 1985-09-00 Plan 9
12 Halloween 2 Audio 1981-10-30 Plan 9
13 Walk Among Us 13 Audio 1982-03-00 Ruby Records
14 Project 1950 21 Audio 2003-07-29
15 Evilive 7 Audio 1982-12-00 Plan 9
16 Earth A.D. / Wolfs Blood 9 Audio 1983-12-12 Plan 9
17 Static Age 17 Audio 1997-07-15
18 The Misfits Box Set 119 Audio 1996-02-27 Caroline Records
19 American Psycho 18 Audio 1997-05-13 Geffen Records
20 Cuts From The Crypt 17 Audio 2001 Roadrunner Records
21 Beware The Complete Singles 77 - 82 25 Audio 1994 Destroy Fascism Records
22 Legacy Of Brutality 13 Audio 1985-09-00 Plan 9
23 Die Die My Darling 3 Audio 1984-05-00 Plan 9
24 Famous Misfits Of Filmland 4 Audio 1987-03-00
25 Teenagers From Mars 2 Audio 1978 Not On Label (Misfits Self-released)
26 Who Killed Marilyn? 5 Audio 1979 Not On Label (Misfits Self-released)
27 Walk Among Us 13 Audio 1982 Expanded Music
28 American Psycho 18 Audio 2002 Not On Label (Misfits)
29 Evilive 12 Audio 1997-03-11 Caroline Records
30 Famous Monsters 22 Audio 1999-10-11 Roadrunner Records
31 American Psycho 18 Audio
32 Famous Monsters 18 Audio 1999 Roadrunner Records
33 Evilive 12 Audio 1987-10-15
34 Evilive II 19 Audio 1998 Not On Label (Misfits Self-released)
35 Walk Among Us 17 Audio 2002 Ruby Records (4)
36 Day The Earth Caught Fire 2 Audio 2002-06-18
37 Return Of The Fly 7 Audio 1994 Mermi Mini
38 Misfits 20 Audio 1986 Wolfbane Records
39 Evilive 7 Audio 1983 Aggressive Rockproduktionen
40 Live Night Of The Living Dead! 18 Audio 1987 Not On Label (Misfits)
41 Hate Breeder 17 Audio 1987 Anzalone Music
42 Bullet 4 Audio 1989 Listless Recordings
43 The Famous Monsters Demos 7 Audio 2002 Not On Label (Misfits)
44 Return Of The Fly 3 Audio 1987 Monkey Business Records
45 Evil-Five 5 Audio 1990 Perverted Productions
46 Horror Business 3 Audio 1979-08-00 Plan 9
47 Spook City U.S.A 3 Audio 1989 Plan 69
48 Spook City U.S.A 3 Audio 1989 Plan 69
49 Cough / Cool 2 Audio 1988 Dungeon Records
50 Halloween 2 Audio 1989 Plan 9 (2)

The Misfits are an American horror-themed punk rock band from Lodi, New Jersey. Formed in early 1977, they took the band name from Marilyn Monroe's last film and in fact, thanked the cast of the movie on the back of their first record. The founding members were: Glenn Danzig on vocals and electric piano, Jerry Caiafa (Jerry Only) on bass, and Manny on drums. Their first release on their own label, Blank Records, didn't reflect the characteristic anger and rebellion of most "punk" records, but instead a more brooding and sinister, yet romantic side lingering beneath. Following the single, Danzig and Only recruited a new drummer and added a guitar player and pursued the horror-based punk rock direction that they are known for. Danzig and Only presided over several line up changes, eventually culminating with Jerry's younger brother, Paul (aka Doyle) becoming the band's permanent guitarist.

The original Misfits broke up in October 1983, having released several 7" singles and 12" records, all of which were DIY limited-edition and most of which were hand-assembled by the band, that have long been considered prime collectors' items. The bulk of the band's material was released on Glenn's Plan 9 label. The band's popularity grew exponentially following their split and their material and tapes of their live shows were heavily bootlegged.

Following the Misfits' dissolution, Danzig formed a new band called Samhain while Jerry Only and Doyle, heavily in debt to their father over band expenses, stepped away from music to work full time jobs at their father's company. Between 1986 and 1988, Glenn continued to issue unreleased and out of print Misfits material. Some of the songs on these collections featured guitar and bass tracks re-recorded by Glenn while others were all new recordings of old songs performed by Glenn and his Samhain bandmate Eerie Von. These collections were released by Plan 9 records. Jerry Only eventually contacted Danzig about royalties from these releases which resulted in a lawsuit between the two. In 1995, an out of court settlement was reached that gave Only the rights to the Misfits name while Glenn maintained control of the publishing for the band's old material and the Plan 9 label was terminated.

Jerry Only and Doyle reformed The Misfits in 1995, recruiting Michale Graves on vocals and Dr. Chud on drums. The new incarnation of the Misfits released two full-length albums, "American Psycho" and "Famous Monsters" as well as a collection of rare and unreleased "resurrected" Misfits tracks, until Michale Graves and Dr. Chud left the band on October 25, 2000 at a performance at the House of Blues in Orlando. Doyle went on "indefinite hiatus" from the band, later stating he was frustrated with decisions that his brother had made regarding the band. In 2004, Doyle reconnected with Glenn Danzig and has periodically made live appearances with Glenn to perform Misfits tunes. Meanwhile, Jerry Only took over the vocalist spot in the Misfits while recruiting former Black Flag vocalist Dez Cadena to play guitar and Marky Ramone for the drums. Ramone eventually left and was replaced by former Misfits and Black Flag drummer Robo, who was later replaced by Eric "Chupacabra" Arce. In 2001, Only and associate John Cafiero set up Misfits Records to release new material by the band. After releasing an album of cover tunes in 2003, the Only-fronted line up released it's first album of original tunes in 2011.

Comments about Misfits: