Members of Thergothon: Jori Sjöroos, Mikko Ruotsalainen, Niko Sirkiä, Sami Kaveri
This performer (group) in the Internet:,

Discography of Thergothon:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Stream From The Heavens 6 Audio 1994 Avantgarde Music
2 Fhtagn-Nagh Yog-Sothoth 5 Audio 2006 Painiac Records
3 Abysmal Dimensions 4 Audio 1991-05-00 Not On Label (Thergothon Self-released)
4 Fhtagn-Nagh Yog-Sothoth 4 Audio 1992
5 Stream From The Heavens 6 Audio 2013 Seventh Rule Recordings
6 Stream From The Heavens 6 Audio 2013 Seventh Rule Recordings
7 Stream From The Heavens 6 Audio 2000
8 Fhtagn-Nagh Yog-Sothoth 4 Audio 2005-04-00 Eibon Records
9 Fhtagn-Nagh Yog-Sothoth 6 Audio 2013 The Crypt
10 Fhtagn-Nagh Yog-Sothoth 6 Audio 2013 The Crypt
11 Stream From The Heavens 6 Audio 2012-08-22 Seventh Rule Recordings
12 Fhtagn-Nagh Yog-Sothoth 4 Audio Not On Label

Thergothon are one of the most important bands in the whole Doom Metal genre, as they foreshadowed the epic appearance of the Funeral Doom substyle way before their time. Unfortunately, the band's short activity was only able to produce a single full-length, but they were still able to influence a numerous number of bands, including the great Evoken.

The band was formed as a Brutal Death Metal act in late 1990 in Turku, Finland by Niko "Skorpio" Sirkiä (vocals, synthesizers/keyboards), Jori Sjöroos (drums) and Mikko Ruotsalainen (guitar). After deciding that they wanted to play more original music, they slowed down the tempos and joined forces with Sami Kaveri who joined the band as a second guitarist. With this line-up they recorded a demo in 1990, which unfortunately was never released. "Fhtagn-nagh Yog-Sothoth" (limited to 600 copies), the band's second demo, was released a year later.

The band then reformed after the release (and after some live shows which included the performing of a Doomish version of Venom's "In League With Satan"), becoming a trio composed of Jori, Niko and Mikko only. Italian label Obscure Plasma eventually signed them, and they were able to record their debut and only full-length album, "Stream from the Heavens", finally released after many delays in 1994. Unfortunately though, the band broke up whole months before the release of the album, and while nothing new is planned and the band will most likely never re-unite, their sound and progression has infected myriads of other acts in the genre.

Comments about Thergothon: