Also known as Destruction, The
Members of Destruction: Andre Grieder, Harry Wilkens, Marc Reign, Marcel Schirmer, Michael Sifringer, Oliver Kaiser (2), Sven Vormann, Thomas Sandmann (2), Wawrzyniec Dramowicz
This performer (group) in the Internet:,

Discography of Destruction:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Mad Butcher / Eternal Devastation 11 Audio 2000 Steamhammer
2 Sentence Of Death / Infernal Overkill 15 Audio 2000-08-15 Steamhammer
3 Release From Agony 8 Audio Steamhammer
4 Live - Without Sense 11 Audio 1989-01-01 Steamhammer
5 Infernal Overkill 8 Audio 1985 Steamhammer
6 Eternal Devastation 7 Audio 1986 Steamhammer
7 Release From Agony 8 Audio 1987 Steamhammer
8 Mad Butcher / Sentence Of Death 9 Audio 1987 Steamhammer
9 Thrash Anthems 15 Audio 2007-01-19 AFM Records
10 The Antichrist 11 Audio 2001 Nuclear Blast
11 Eternal Devastation 7 Audio 1998 Axe Killer Records
12 Sentence Of Death 6 Audio 1984 Steamhammer
13 Inventor Of Evil 12 Audio 2005-10-25 Candlelight Records USA
14 Live Without Sense 12 Audio 1989 Steamhammer
15 Live Discharge 48 Audio 2004-03-04
16 D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N. 10 Audio 2008 Candlelight Records USA
17 Sentence Of Death 6 Audio 1985 Metal Blade Records
18 Infernal Overkill 8 Audio 1985 Metal Blade Records
19 Eternal Devastation 7 Audio 1986 Metal Blade Records
20 Mad Butcher 4 Audio 1988 Steamhammer
21 D.E.V.O.L.U.T.I.O.N. 10 Audio 2008-08-29 AFM Records
22 Thrash Anthems 15 Audio 2007 AFM Records
23 Sentence Of Death 6 Audio 1984 Banzai Records
24 Release From Agony 8 Audio 1988
25 Infernal Overkill 8 Audio 2004 Vinyl Maniacs
26 A Black Metal Night 4 Audio Vinyl Heart Rec.
27 2 Originals Of Destruction: Mad Butcher / Eternal Devastation + Sentence Of Death / Infernal Overkill 26 Audio 2001 Steamhammer
28 Sentence Of Death / Infernal Overkill 16 Audio Steamhammer
29 Cracked Brain 9 Audio 1990 Noise (3)
30 All Hell Breaks Loose 12 Audio 2000 Nuclear Blast America
31 Alive Devastation 13 Audio 2003-03-26 Nexus (3)
32 Metal Discharge 18 Audio 2003
33 Inventor Of Evil 12 Audio 2006 Icarus Music
34 Bestial Invasion Of Hell / End Of The World 13 Audio Warhammer Records
35 Them Not Me 6 Audio 1995 Brain Butcher Compact
36 Mad Butcher 4 Audio 1986 Steamhammer
37 Live Discharge 48 Audio 2004-03-04
38 Metal Discharge 9 Audio 2003 Nuclear Blast
39 The Antichrist 13 Audio 2001 Nuclear Blast
40 Whiplash 2 Audio 2001 Nuclear Blast
41 Invincible Invasion 14 Audio From Hell Records
42 The Antichrist 12 Audio 2001-08-27 Nuclear Blast
43 Thrash Anthems 15 Audio 2009 Candlelight Records USA
44 Alive Devastation 13 Audio 2004 Irond
45 Release From Agony 8 Audio 1988 Profile Records
46 Mad Butcher / Sentence Of Death 10 Audio 2005 Vinyl Maniacs
47 Infernal Overkill 8 Audio 1985
48 Eternal Devastation 7 Audio 1986
49 All Hell Breaks Loose + The Antichrist 31 Audio 2007
50 Mad Butcher 4 Audio 1987 Vap Inc.

Destruction was formed in 1983 in Weil am Rhein, Germany by

Schmier (b. Marcel Schmier Schirmer; bass, vocals), Mike Sifringer (guitar) and Tommy Sandmann (drums).

They made a rather raw debut with 1984's mini-album Sentence Of Death, but quickly refined their sound into potent, powerful thrash for the excellent Infernal Overkill.

Second guitarist Harry Wilkens joined following the recording of the equally ferocious Eternal Devastation to bolster the live sound, although Sandmann also departed to be replaced by Oliver Kaiser, and the pair made their debut on the Mad Butcher EP.

Release From Agony saw the band make full use of the extra dimension the second guitar added, although their increasing musical dexterity and more intricate song structures did nothing to temper Destruction's aggression and heaviness, and the band began to extend themselves abroad, playing with Motörhead across Europe and on a few dates of Slayer's US tour.

Live Without Sense was an adequate display of the band's onstage power, but Destruction's fortunes took a downturn after they supported Celtic Frost on their Cold Lake UK tour. Internal dissent led to Schmier's departure, with the rest of the band electing to pursue a more melodic direction.

Cracked Brain was recorded with new bassist Christian Engler and stand-in vocalist Andre Grieder, but was disappointing. Further credibility was lost with a pointless cover version of the Knack's "My Sharona', and Destruction soon folded.

The band re-formed in the mid-90s with new members Thomas Rosenmerkel (vocals) and Michael Piranio (guitars) to record the Destruction and Them Not Me EPs, and 1996"s The Least Successful Human Cannonball, all of which were released on their own Brain Butcher label. Sifringer and Schmier inaugurated a full-scale reformation in 1999, recruiting new drummer Sven Herwig to record All Hell Breaks Loose.

Additional notes

Arguably the first German thrash band. Their original name was Knight of Demon, but that was changed after a few weeks. They went from an Iron Maiden-esque sound to one heavily influenced by Venom in a matter of weeks.

In the early 90's Flemming Ronsdorf (Artillery) was asked to join Destruction as new vocalist. He rehearsed with the band, but didn't join because the label didn't want to send him money in advance before the upcoming tour (according to Ronsdorf).

The releases between 1994 and 1998 have been disowned by the band and are now classed as "Neo-Destruction" and not part of their offical discography.

Schmier performed guest vocals on the 2006 album "The Winter Wake" by the Folk Metal band Elvenking.

Current line-up

Marcel "Schmier" Schirmer - Bass & Vocals (1982-1989, 1999-)

Mike Sifringer - Guitar (1982-)

Wawrzyniec Dramowicz - Drums (2010-)

Former/past member(s)


André Grieder (Poltergeist (Che)) (1990)

Thomas Rosenmerkel (Ephemera’s Party, Jesus Chrysler Superskunk) (1993-1999)


Harry Wilkens (1987-1990)

Michael Piranio (Ephemera’s Party, Jesus Chrysler Superskunk) (1993-1999)


Christian Engler (Necronomicon (Ger)) (1994-1998)


Thomas "Tommy" Sandmann (1982-1987)

Oliver "Olli" Kaiser (1987-1999)

Sven Vormann (Jesus Chrysler Superskunk, Abandoned, Cryonix, The Lie) (1999-2002)

Marc Reign (2002-2010)


Chris Witchhunter (Sodom) ('Eternal Devastation' tour) (R.I.P. 7th September 2008)

Comments about Destruction: