Doom (2)

Members of Doom (2): Andus Asylum, Andy Irvine (2), Brian Talbot, Chris Gascoigne, Denis Boardman, Jim Whitely, Jon Pickering, Mick Harris, Paul Halmshaw, Paul Mallen, Pete Nash, Scoot (2), Sned, Tom Croft, Tony Dickens, Wayne Southworth
This performer (group) in the Internet:,

Discography of Doom (2):

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Police Bastard 5 Audio 1989
2 Double Peel Sessions 12 Audio 1989 Strange Fruit
3 The Peel Sessions 12 Audio 1989 Dutch East India Trading
4 Hail To Sweden 6 Audio 1994 Pandora's Box
5 Lost The Fight 7 Audio 1993 Flat Earth
6 Doomed From The Start - The Demo's Album 30 Audio 1996
7 Doomed From The Start (The Demo's Album) 26 Audio 1992
8 教祖ラッシュ 11 Audio 1996 Flat Earth
9 Fuck Peaceville 37 Audio 1995
10 War Crimes - Inhuman Beings 23 Audio 1988 Peaceville
11 Pro-Life Control / Tear Silence To Pieces 19 Audio 1994 Ecocentric Records
12 教祖ラッシュ 11 Audio 1996 Flat Earth
13 Pro-Life Control / Tear Silence Into Pieces 21 Audio 1994 Ecocentric Records
14 The Greatest Invention... 9 Audio 1993 Discipline
15 Total Doom 41 Audio 2002 Peaceville
16 Peel Sessions 17 Audio 1998
17 Live In Japan 8 Audio 1992 Ecocentric Records
18 Doomed To Extinction 6 Audio 1994 Ecocentric Records
19 Monarchy Zoo 5 Audio 1996
20 Pissed, Robbed And Twatted 6 Audio 2001 Nuclear Sun Punk Records
21 Doom / Cress 8 Audio 1998 Flat Earth
22 The Greatest Invention 8 Audio 1993 Discipline
23 Fuck Peaceville 37 Audio 1995
24 World Of Shit 11 Audio 2001
25 教祖ラッシュ 11 Audio 2007 Candlelight Records USA
26 教祖ラッシュ 17 Audio 2007 Violent Change
27 Multinationals, Raping Mother Nature 7 Audio 1990 Not On Label
28 Police Bastard 5 Audio 1990
29 Police Bastard 5 Audio 1989 Discarded Records
30 War Crimes (Inhuman Beings) 23 Audio 1988 Peaceville
31 World Of Shit 11 Audio 2001
32 Police Bastard 5 Audio 1999 Profane Existence
33 Back And Gone + Live At 1 In 12 Club, Bradford, England, 19/02/2005 32 Audio 2006-02-15 MCR Company
34 教祖ラッシュ 11 Audio 2010 Flat Earth
35 War Crimes - Inhuman Beings 21 Audio 1988 Peaceville
36 Doom 4 Audio 2011-05-26 Black Cloud Records
37 The Demo's 26 Audio Lethal Chaos Produzioni
38 Lost The Fight / Pro-Life Control Sessions 18 Audio 2009 Agipunk
39 Fuck Peaceville 37 Audio 2009 Twisted Chords
40 Police Bastard 5 Audio 1999 Profane Existence
41 Rattus / Doom 18 Audio 2011 Nausea
42 1987 - 1998 29 Audio Not On Label
43 Videodoom 3 Audio 1995-10-00 MCR Company
44 Bury The Debt Not The Dead / Untitled 17 Audio 1989-02-06 Peaceville
45 Doomed From The Start - The Demos' Album 22 Audio 2011 Antisociety
46 Total Doom 37 Audio 2002 Peaceville
47 Doomed Again 27 Audio 2012 Agipunk
48 教祖ラッシュ 11 Audio
49 Lost The Fight / Pro-Life Control Sessions 20 Audio 2009 Agipunk
50 Total Doom 36 Audio 2012-06-21 Svart Records

Formed in 1987 in Birmingham, United Kingdom, however they began as The Subverters, with Bri Doom (guitar), Jon Pickering (bass/vocals) and Jason "Hog" Hodges (drums). About the time Hog was replaced by new drummer, Mick Harris ([a=Napalm Death]), the band changed its name to Doom.

This line up played one or two gigs, playing in a crossover metal style. Bri and Jon decided this wasn't the direction they wanted the band to move in. Consequently they left Harris and the metal style of music, and decided to go in a [a=Discharge]-influenced crust-punk-style that Doom became known for. Pickering dropped bass to concentrate on vocals and Pete Nash joined as bass player. Harris left for [a=Napalm Death] so new drummer "Stick", recently made band-less, joined after a drunken meeting at the infamous Mermaid Pub. This was when the 'real' Doom was formed. The band started rehearsing with this line-up in mid 1987.

About this time a small label called [l=Peaceville] was starting up. They heard about Doom through word of mouth and asked if they were interested in contributing songs to the first Peaceville compilation [r=466098]. Doom went into the studio to record their first demo on 28 August 1987. Nash unfortunately broke his wrist just before Doom's recording debut, so bass player Jim Whitley (of [a=Napalm Death] and [a=Ripcord]) filled in on the recording. Three songs were recorded (two of which appeared on [r=466098]).

On the strength of this first recording [l=Peaceville] asked Doom if they would record a full LP for them, which they agreed to do. The "War Is Big Business" demo was recorded on 27 November 1987, which the band sold as a cassette at gigs. In February 1988, Doom went into Rich Bitch Studios and recorded 21 songs for their debut album "War Crimes (Inhuman Beings)". All this time the band gigged constantly in the UK building up a following on the way. Another demo "Domesday" was also produced.

At the end of 1988, due to personal commitments Bri announced that he would be leaving the band. He stayed long enough to record the split LP "Bury the Debt - Not The Dead" (with Swedish band [a=No Security]) on the [l=Peaceville]. The "Police Bastard" EP on [l=Discarded records] was also recorded at the same session. Doom were also invited to record two sessions for Radio One's [a=John Peel] show around this point. Bri left the band in April 1989 after completing a lengthy European tour.

Doom continued with different guitarists but did not settle with four members, so Pickering turned to vocal and guitar duties. This line up continued until a final split in August 1990. Following the group's demise Pickering formed [a=Police Bastard], whilst drummer Stick joined [a=Extreme Noise Terror] then [a=Dirt (3)].

The band reformed in 1992 with the earlier line up of Bri, Jon, Pete and Stick. They toured Japan and recorded a 12" of new songs released on the label [l=Vinyl Japan]. This proved to be the last recording with this line up. About this point the band almost folded but Bri and Stick decided to continue with two new members. These being Tom Croft from [a=Genital Deformities] on vocals and Paul "Mall" Mallen on bass guitar. This line up recorded the split album with [a=Selfish] and a split 7" EP with [a=Hiatus]. Mall left shortly afterwards (an amicable parting). He was replaced by bassist Scoot from Largactyl.

This line up recorded the split 7" EP "Doomed To Extinction" with [a=Extinction Of Mankind], the "Fuck Peaceville" double LP, and the "Hail To Sweden" 7" EP. This is also the line up who appear on the "Videodoom" video on [l=MCR Company] on a European tour in 1994.

A tour of Scandinavia was organised for September 1995, however Scoot decided not to go due to problems at home, so he was replaced by Denis (of [a=Blood Sucking Freaks]) & permanently by Chris Gascoigne (of [a=Suffer]) after the tour. Tom Croft also left just before the tour and he was replaced by Wayne Southworth (also of [a=Blood Sucking Freaks]). While on the Scandinavian tour Doom recorded the "Monarchy Zoo" 7" EP at Sunlight Studios.

The band, now comprised of Stick, Bri, Denis, Wayne and Chris. They went into the studio in June 1996 and recorded a full LP for [l=Flat Earth], called "Rush Hour Of The Gods". In 97 the band recorded again for [l=Flat Earth] the split 10" with [a=Cress] and in 2001 the last full length LP entitled "World Of Shit" on [l=Vinyl Japan Records].

Doom continued again with Bri, Stick, Wayne and Andy Irvine (ex [a=Disaffect], [a=Scatha] and Devils).

On March 18, 2005, Wayne Southworth (lead singer) died at his home. The cause of death was an epileptic seizure.

2010. Doom is back. The line-up keeps it “in the family”!

Current line-up:

Denis - vocals

Bri - guitar

Scoot - bass

Stick - drums

Comments about Doom (2):