Siege (2)

Also known as Seige
Members of Siege (2): Henry McNamee, Kevin Mahoney (2), Kurt Habelt, Robert Williams (6), Seth Putnam
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,

Discography of Siege (2):

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Drop Dead 10 Audio 2009 Deep Six Records
2 Drop Dead 9 Audio 2006 Deranged Records
3 Deep Wound / Siege 5 Audio 1992
4 Drop Dead 9 Audio 1993 Lost And Found Records
5 Drop Dead 8 Audio 1989 Off The Disk Records
6 Drop Dead 9 Audio 2004 Deep Six Records
7 Drop Dead 8 Audio 1989 Off The Disk Records
8 Drop Dead 8 Audio 1989 Off The Disk Records
9 Drop Dead EP 6 Audio 1991 Revoltation
10 Live At The Knock 85? And Fest 85 Japan/Live 1/25/85 At The Anthrax, Standford, Connecticut, USA 12 Audio No Answers Records
11 Drop Dead 9 Audio 1994 Relapse Records
12 Lost Session '91 4 Audio 2014 PATAC Records
13 Lost Session '91 4 Audio 2014 PATAC Records
14 Lost Session '91 4 Audio 2014 PATAC Records
15 Lost Session '91 4 Audio 2014 PATAC Records
16 Siege 6 Audio Not On Label (Siege (2))

Kurt Habelt, Henry McNamee, and Rob Williams formed what was to become Siege around 1981. The three youngsters from Weymouth, Massachusetts had been playing music together since 7th grade or so. The band didn't really solidify until they recruited ska band saxophonist Kevin Mahoney on vocals in 1983. Although Mahoney was from Braintree, Massachusetts (near Boston and home also to Jerry's Kids and Gang Green), the band was never fully accepted by the XClaim-dominated Boston hardcore scene. They were definitely not lacking sonically, however, playing furious music at breakneck speed and pioneering a new style of brutal and nihilistic hardcore. In 1984, Siege went into Radiobeat studios to record a demo with Lou Giordano. The tape made its way through the hardcore punk underground, and clearly made an impression on Pushead for one, who included Siege on his seminal 1985 compilation Cleanse the Bacteria. The three songs on this record were to be the only "official" release by the band until Relapse put out their demo in 1993. Siege called it quits a year or so later. Afterwards, Rob Williams played drums in Nightstick, a Sabbath-influenced band from Massachusetts. In the early 90's, Siege reformed with Seth Putnam (of Anal Cunt) replacing Mahoney on vocals, although the band dissolved again fairly soon after. At the moment, Williams and Putnam are collaborating with saxophonist Jim Hobbs and guitarist Chris Joyce, performing and recording improv noise material under the name The Death's Head Quartet. Kevin Mahoney was last seen doing theatre in Cambridge, MA", Taken from the "Kill From The Heart" webpage. In addition, Siege had an impact on Uk bands like Ripcord, Heresy, and Napalm Death. Besides playing Boston-area shows, Siege would also play shows in the Western Mass area with bands like Deep Wound and The Outpatients. Siege has left a impact on the hardcore scene, with their intense style of hardcore influencing many with their sound. Highly recommended for someone looking to listen to some chaotic hardcore.

Comments about Siege (2):