Band Of Gypsys

Also known as Band Of Gypsies, Band Of Gypsys, The, Hendrix Band Of Gypsys
Members of Band Of Gypsys: Billy Cox, Buddy Miles, Jimi Hendrix

Discography of Band Of Gypsys:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Stepping Stone 2 Audio 1970 Reprise Records
2 Band Of Gypsys 6 Audio 2004 Polydor
3 Stepping Stone 2 Audio 1970 Reprise Records
4 The Fillmore Concerts 17 Audio 1994 Whoopy Cat
5 Power Of Soul 10 Audio 1995 Starquake
6 Band Of Gypsys 6 Audio 2006 Track Record (2)
7 Stepping Stone 2 Audio 1970 Reprise Records
8 Stepping Stone / Isabella 2 Audio 2007 Experience Hendrix
9 2 Nights At The Fillmore East 54 Audio 2007 Voodoo Chile Records
10 Band Of Gypsys 6 Audio 1997 MCA Records
11 Resurrection 13 Audio Not On Label

After "The Jimi Hendrix Experience" split up, Hendrix formed the "Gypsy, Sun & Rainbows Band", this was the band who performed the amazing set at the Woodstock Festival in August 1969. They disbanded in September of that year when Jimi realized the enlarged band couldn't provide him with the sound he wanted, and then reformed at the New Year with just Jimi Hendrix, Billy Cox and Buddy Miles. Altogether, they performed just five times before Cox and Miles were fired by Michael Jeffery (Hendrix' manager at the time). The "Band Of Gypsys" album is the last release personally authorized by Jimi Hendrix before his death.

Comments about Band Of Gypsys: