Chris Read

Chris Read

Also known as C Read, C. Read, Chris 'A New Bitch Each Week' Read, Chris Read (Creative Habits)
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,,,,,,,,,,

Discography of Chris Read:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 The Little Brother Show 9 Audio 2009 Music Of Substance
2 The Diary Volume 1.5 (Twenty Years Of The Remix) 22 Audio 2009 Music Of Substance
3 Sons D'Afrique 2 Audio 2011 Breakin' Bread (UK)
4 Disco Cumbia 4 Audio 2011-08-29 Breakin' Bread (UK)
5 BBE 15 - 15 Years Of Real Music For Real People 71 Audio 2011 BBE
6 BBE 15 - 15 Years Of Real Music For Real People 71 Audio 2011-09-26 BBE
7 Rap Tradition 2 Audio 2013 Breakin' Bread (UK)
8 Bbe: 15 Years Of Real Music For Real People 45 Audio 2011 BBE
9 The Magic Is Gone 2 Audio 2014-02-10 Breakin' Bread (UK)
10 Small Steps 14 Audio 2014-02-00 Breakin' Bread (UK)

Chris, a collector of hip hop, funk, soul boogie and related beats and jazz based music since the late eighties first came to prominence as a club DJ in the mid 90s through his 10 year role as resident DJ and promoter at Substance (one of the UK's largest and longest running hip hop and funk nights). An album release for Different Drummer and a 2 year spell as mix DJ on BBC Radio 1Xtra took Chris' production and DJ talents to a national audience. In recent years a steady output of high profile singles, remixes mix albums has allowed Chris to DJ around the globe.

In 2010, Chris was named as one of nine 'Stars of the Future' by Mixcloud and ranked a respectable #17 in the site's top 100 DJs of 2010. In the past year Chris has joined the ranks of respected UK labels BBE and Breakin Bread, releasing three official mix albums for the former and series of tropical 7" singles for the latter. Chris is currently hard at work in the studio producing a new album for BBC New Urban Music Award winning band 'Maylight', a seven piece outfit fusing jazz, soul and electronics featuring the vocal talents of Tru Thoughts' Lizzy Parks.

Comments about Chris Read: