Mothers, The

Also known as All M.O.I. Members, Frank Zappa And The Mothers Of Invention, Frank's Mothers Of Invention, Las Mothers, M.O.I., Mother Of Invection, The, Mothers, Mothers Of Invention, Mothers Of Invention . . . , The, Mothers Of Invention, The, Ruben And The Jets, Rueben And The Jets
Members of Mothers, The: Alan Estes, Alex Dmochowski, Andre Lewis, Anthony Ortega, Art Tripp, Arthur Barrow, Aynsley Dunbar, Billy Byers, Billy Mundi, Bob Harris (9), Bob Zimmitti, Bobby Martin (2), Bruce Lambourne Fowler, Bunk Gardner, Chad Wackerman, Chester Thompson, Chunky (3), Denny Walley, Don "Sugarcane" Harris, Don Preston, Don Van Vliet, Earl Dumler, Ed Mann, Elliot Ingber, Ernie Tack, Ernie Watts, Frank Zappa, Fred Jackson, George Duke, Howard Kaylan, Ian Underwood, Ike Willis, Janet Ferguson, Jean-Luc Ponty, Jeff Simmons, Jim Fielder, Jim Pons, Jimmy Carl Black, Joanne Caldwell McNabb, Joel Peskin, John Guerin, John Rotella, Kenny Shroyer, Kurt McGettrick, Lowell George, Malcolm McNab, Mark Volman, Mike Altschul, Moon Zappa, Motorhead Sherwood, Napoleon M. Brock, Peter Wolf (3), Ray Collins, Robert 'Frog' Camarena, Roy Estrada, Ruben Ladron De Guevara, Ruth Komanoff, Ruth Underwood, Sal Marquez, Suzy Creamcheese, Tom Fowler, Tommy Mariano, Tony Duran
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,

Discography of Mothers, The:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Freak Out! 15 Audio 1995 Rykodisc
2 One Size Fits All 9 Audio 1988
3 Roxy & Elsewhere 10 Audio 1992 Barking Pumpkin Records
4 Fillmore East - June 1971 11 Audio 1990 Zappa Records
5 Absolutely Free 17 Audio 1995 Rykodisc
6 Freak Out! 19 Audio 1972
7 Bongo Fury 9 Audio 1995 Rykodisc
8 One Size Fits All 9 Audio 1995 Rykodisc
9 We're Only In It For The Money 18 Audio 1968-03-04
10 Burnt Weeny Sandwich 9 Audio 1970-02-09
11 One Size Fits All 9 Audio 1975-08-00 DiscReet
12 Roxy & Elsewhere 10 Audio 1995-05-02 Rykodisc
13 Just Another Band From L.A. 5 Audio 1973 Reprise Records
14 Over-Nite Sensation 7 Audio 1973 DiscReet
15 Fillmore East - June 1971 12 Audio 1971 Reprise Records
16 The Grand Wazoo 5 Audio 1972 Reprise Records
17 Burnt Weeny Sandwich 9 Audio 1995 Rykodisc
18 Absolutely Free 15 Audio 1988
19 Freak Out! 15 Audio 1987 Zappa Records
20 Freak Out! 20 Audio 1966-06-27 Verve Records
21 My Guitar 2 Audio 1969
22 Just Another Band From L.A. 5 Audio 1972-03-00 Bizarre Records
23 Uncle Meat 28 Audio 1969
24 Poot Face Booogie 10 Audio 1988 The Amazing Kornyfone Record Label
25 The **** Of The Mothers 11 Audio 1969 Verve Records
26 Mothermania (The Best Of The Mothers) 11 Audio 1969 Verve Records
27 Weasels Ripped My Flesh 11 Audio 1970-09-00 Bizarre Records
28 Weasels Ripped My Flesh 11 Audio 1990-05-00 Rykodisc
29 How Could I Be Such A Fool 2 Audio 1966 Verve Records
30 Who Are The Brain Police? 2 Audio 1966 Verve Records
31 We're Only In It For The Money 19 Audio 1995 Rykodisc
32 Roxy & Elsewhere 14 Audio 1974-09-10 Discreet
33 Frank Zappa & The Mothers Of Invention 22 Audio 1975
34 Bongo Fury 9 Audio 1975-10-02 DiscReet
35 Fillmore East, June 1971 11 Audio 1990 Rykodisc
36 Absolutely Free 15 Audio 1972 Verve Records
37 Bongo Fury 9 Audio 1975 Discreet
38 Uncle Meat 28 Audio 1974-04-22 Bizarre Records
39 2 Originals Of The Mothers Of Invention 22 Audio 1975 Reprise Records
40 The Worst Of The Mothers 10 Audio 1971 MGM Records
41 Burnt Weeny Sandwich 9 Audio 1970-05-06 Reprise Records
42 Roxy & Elsewhere 14 Audio 1974-10-08 DiscReet
43 American Pageant (Musical Underground Oratorios) 12 Audio 1989 Duchesse Records
44 Tiny Nightmares 18 Audio 1979 Beacon Island Records
45 We're Only In It For The Money 18 Audio 1972 Verve Records
46 Cruising With Ruben & The Jets 13 Audio Verve Records (2)
47 The Grand Wazoo 5 Audio
48 'Tis The Season To Be Jelly 12 Audio 1985 Bizarre Records (4)
49 Fillmore East, June 1971 12 Audio 1971 Reprise Records
50 Trick Or Treat 13 Audio 1968 Bizarre Records (4)

[a=Frank Zappa] teamed with gigging R&B group 'The Soul Giants' in 1964. The band included vocalist [a=Ray Collins], bassist [a=Roy Estrada] and drummer [a=Jimmy Carl Black]. Zappa emerged as their creative leader and the band became 'The Mothers' (as in mother-f**kers = good musicians). After signing to [l=Verve Records] this was appended to 'The Mothers Of Invention' at the insistence of the label. Until Zappa founded his own label the appendage was usually added in mock deference and the band were usually referred to as 'The Mothers'.

Guitarist [a=Elliot Ingber] then joined and, for much of their seminal 1960's albums, the group also included woodwind player [a=Bunk Gardner], saxophonist [a=Motorhead Sherwood], keyboardist [a=Don Preston], multi-instrumentalist [a=Ian Underwood] and additional drummers [a=Billy Mundi] and [a=Art Tripp]. Most of these artists appeared on "Freak Out!" (1966), "Absolutely Free" and "We're Only In It For The Money" (1967), "Cruising With Ruben & the Jets" (1968) and "Uncle Meat" (1969).

During Zappa's jazz/classical rock period of 1969-1970, his works were augmented by violinists [a=Don "Sugarcane" Harris] and [a=Jean-Luc Ponty], percussionist [a=Ruth Underwood] and drummers [a=Aynsley Dunbar] and [a=John Guerin]. Most of these artists appeared on "Uncle Meat", "Hot Rats", "Weasels Ripped My Flesh" and "Burnt Weeny Sandwich".

From 1970-72, Zappa formed a new line-up with former [a48408] members [a=Flo & Eddie] and bassist [a=Jim Pons]. Preston, Underwood and Dunbar remained in the line-up, along with additional keyboardist [a=George Duke]. This line-up was disbanded, after Zappa was pushed from the stage by a fan in 1972. (He could not tour for the next year). Two more jazz rock albums, "Waka Jawaka" and "The Grand Wazoo", were recorded with much of the previous jazz-rock group including Preston, Ian and Ruth Underwood, Dunbar, Ponty, Huerin and Duke. Trumpeter [a=Sal Marquez] was also added. Zappa and the band went back to vocal rock songs with jazz elements in 1973 on "Over-Nite Sensation", then 1974's "Apostrophe" and 1975's "One Size Fits All". Much of the same band remained, along with new members [a=Bruce Lambourne Fowler] (trombone), [a=Tom Fowler] (bass) and [a=Napoleon M. Brock] (saxophone). In 1975 Zappa called a halt to this backing band. By the late '70s an entirely new support band was formed, with only occasional participation from past members, including a re-appearance of [a=Captain Beefheart]. Beginning in the 80's, past 'Mothers' members Collins, Black, Gardner, Sherwood, Preston, Tom and Bruce Fowler occasionally played in a mock Zappa band, 'The Grandmothers'. In 1985 Zappa adroitly used 'The Mothers Of Prevention' in his assault on American censorship aspects of the music industry.

Comments about Mothers, The: