Soul Brothers, The

Also known as His Soul Brothers, Soul Bro's, The, Soul Bros, Soul Bros Orchestra, Soul Bros, The, Soul Bros., Soul Bros., The, Soul Brother, Soul Brothers, Soul Brothers Band, The, Soul Brothers Orchestra, Soul Brothers Orchestra, The, Soulbrothers, The
Members of Soul Brothers, The: Bobby Ellis, Bryan Atkinson, Bunny Williams, Dennis "Ska" Campbell, Harry Haughton, Jackie Mittoo, Joe Isaacs (2), Johnny Moore, Lloyd Brevett, Lloyd Knibbs, Lynn Taitt, Roland Alphonso, Wallin Cameron

Discography of Soul Brothers, The:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Last Train To Skaville 16 Audio 2003 Soul Jazz Records
2 Something Special: Ska Hot Shots 20 Audio 2000
3 Hot Shot 12 Audio Studio One
4 Phoenix City / El Pussy Cat 2 Audio 1979 Island Records
5 Ska Bostella / King Spinner 2 Audio Coxsone Records
6 Green Moon / Egal OK 2 Audio 1965 Studio One
7 I Made A Mistake / Train To Skaville 2 Audio 1965-10-00 Ska Beat
8 Bugaloo / I'll Come Back 2 Audio 1966 Ska Beat
9 Dancing Mood / More & More Amour 2 Audio 1966 All Stars (2)
10 Doctor Dick / Magic Star 2 Audio 1966 Island Records
11 Pressure And Slide / One Stop 2 Audio 1967 Coxsone Records
12 Carib Soul 12 Audio Coxsone Records
13 I'll Only Love You / Gujara Ska 2 Audio Not On Label
14 Carib Soul 12 Audio 1967 Coxsone Records
15 For You / Sound Pressure 2 Audio Coxson
16 Get Out My Life Woman / Sugar Cane 2 Audio Coxson
17 Thy Man Look Into Thy Self / Something Special 2 Audio Studio One
18 Try Me / Gujara Ska 2 Audio Coxsone Records
19 Sister Rock / Crawfish 2 Audio Bongo Man
20 Live Up To Your Name / Ska Bostella 2 Audio Bongo Man
21 For You / Sound Pressure 2 Audio Coxsone Records
22 Woman Of The World / Soul People 2 Audio Coxsone Records
23 A, Dey Pon Dem / Take Ten 2 Audio 1967 Coxsone Records
24 Look Who's Back Again / Free Soul 2 Audio 1966
25 Mother's Young Gal / Confucious 2 Audio Pyramid (2)
26 Mercy-Mr. Percy / Hot And Cold 2 Audio 1967 Studio One
27 Killer Diller / Oh Lady 2 Audio 1966 Island Records
28 Bend Down Low / Freedom Time 2 Audio Wail 'N Soul 'M
29 Rub And Squeeze / Here Comes The Minx 2 Audio 1966 Island Records
30 Greedy Gal / Marcus Junior 2 Audio 1967 Pyramid (2)
31 Dr. Dick / Magic Star 2 Audio Studio One
32 Doctor Dick / Magic Star 2 Audio 1966 Island Records
33 Home Home Home / Windel 2 Audio Studio One
34 I Am Free / Shanty Town 2 Audio Coxsone Records
35 Hot Shot Ska 12 Audio 1967 Coxsone Records
36 Green Moon / Egal O.K. 2 Audio Studio One
37 Freedom Sounds 2 Audio 2013
38 James Bond Girl 2 Audio 2013
39 Dancing Mood / More And More 2 Audio 1967 Island Records
40 Doctor Dick / Magic Star 2 Audio 1966 Studio One
41 From Russia With Love 2 Audio 1966 Doctor Bird
42 Hot Shot 12 Audio Studio One
43 I A Gonna Take Over / Home Made 2 Audio Studio One
44 For You / Sound Pressure 2 Audio Coxsone Records
45 Too Young To Love 2 Audio 1966 Studio One
46 Chain Gang / Do The Bogaloo 2 Audio 2013 Supreme Records (10)
47 Something Special / La-la Lover 2 Audio Coxsone Records
48 I Don't Know What To Do / Got My Bogaloo 2 Audio 2013 Coxson
49 Please Come On Home / Rubber Dub 2 Audio Studio One
50 Pussy Galore / Provocation 2 Audio Studio One

*Studio One Studio Backing Band*

In August 1965, barely a week after the demise of the original Skatalites, The Soul Brothers (featuring ex-Skatalites members Jackie Mittoo, Roland Alphonso, Johnny Moore and Lloyd Brevitt) were up and running as the new house band at Studio One. Other members in this group included Wallin Cameron (guitar) and Bunny Williams (drums). This release could just as easily have been called Rolando Alphonso and The Soul Brothers or just The Soul Brothers as the group were essentially a collective, releasing material under their own name or under a nominal leader (usually Jackie Mittoo or Rolando Alphonso). The group line-up changed over time with Bobby Ellis (trumpet), Bryan Atkinson (bass), Dennis Campbell (Sax), Harry Haughton (guitarist) and Joe Isaacs (drummer) replacing various members alongside the ever present Jackie Mittoo. The Soul Brothers mix of musical styles is described as Ska, Jump-Up and Soul sounds. The track "Last Train to Skaville" signalled the end of the Ska era, as the Soul Brothers started to forge a new sound that by 1967 had become known as Rocksteady, a slowed down funky version of Ska. The main difference between the sound of The Skatalites and The Soul Brothers is the arrival of electric instrumentation such as Jackie¹s organ as well as electric guitar on some tracks. In 1967 Clement Dodd decided to take a group of musicians to England. Alongside the singers Alton Ellis and Ken Boothe, he asked Roland Alphonso, Jackie Mittoo, Johnny Moore, Lloyd Brevett, Bunny Williams and Errol Walters. This group would be named The Soul Vendors and signalled the end of the short-lived Soul Brothers. (Souljazz Records)

Comments about Soul Brothers, The: