Martha Tilton

Martha Ellen Tilton

Also known as Марта Тилтон, M. Tilton, Martha Tilton With Orchestra, Martina Tilton
This performer (group) in the Internet:

Discography of Martha Tilton:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 On Stage 8 Audio 1950 Coronet Records
2 Benny Goodman Story 10 Audio Capitol Records
3 San Diego Waltz / The California Story 2 Audio 1958 Capitol Records
4 Aren't You Glad You're You / You Brought A New Kind Of Love To Me // Love Letters / What A Deal 4 Audio V Disc
5 Special Request Album 8 Audio 1960 Golden Tone
6 Connecticut / How Are Things In Glocca Morra 4 Audio 1946 Capitol Records
7 The Angels Cried / I'll Remember April 2 Audio 1942-04-06 Capitol Records
8 Chickasaw Limited / Sincerily Yours 4 Audio 1947 Majestic
9 A Fellow Needs A Girl 2 Audio 1947 Majestic
10 The Last Time I Saw You / What A Deal 2 Audio 1943 Capitol Records
11 Benny Goodman Story 10 Audio 2010 Capitol Records
12 Texas Polka / I'll Walk Alone 2 Audio Capitol Records
13 The Benny Goodman Story 15 Audio Capitol Records

Jazz singer, born in Corpus Christi, TX on November 14, 1915. Martha Tilton is probably best known for her work with the [a=Benny Goodman] from 1937 to 1939, most notably the popular hit "And The Angels Sing". In 1940, she joined [a=Artie Shaw]'s big band and later [a=Bob Crosby And His Orchestra] in 1941.

Martha Tilton also had major success as a solo artist from 1942-49. Several of her bigger hits were "I'll Walk Alone" from 1944, "I Should Care" and "A Stranger in Town" from 1945, and "How Are Things in Glocca Morra," "That's My Desire," and "I Wonder, I Wonder, I Wonder" from 1947.

She also had a successful film and TV career. Besides her own appearances, her singing voice was used in many films, dubbed over other actresses including Barbara Stanwyck, Martha O'Driscoll, and Anne Gwynne.

Martha Tilton died on December 8, 2006 in Los Angeles, CA.

Comments about Martha Tilton: