Aerial FX

Members of Aerial FX: Bryce Edge, Chris Hufford

Discography of Aerial FX:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Watching The Dance 8 Audio 1982 Kamera Records
2 Instant Feelings / 5: 15 2 Audio 1982 Kamera Records
3 So Hard 2 Audio 1980 Square
4 Same River Twice 12 Audio 2010 Other Voices Records
5 Same River Twice 12 Audio 2010 Other Voices Records

The band line-up was:

Chris Hufford - Vocals, rhythm guitar

Bryce Edge - Keyboards, backing vocals

Richard Hart - Lead guitar

Andy Melton - Bass

Simon Bladon - Drums

Around 1980/81 Oxford based band Exit 13 changed their sound & changed their name to Aerial FX. They signed a publishing deal with Island Music, released 2 singles ("So Hard" on Square Records & then "Take It From Here" on Island Records), & then bagged enough studio time to record "Watching The Dance" LP which was released on [l29864] along with a single "Instant Feelings".

They played shows around London & the UK throughout that period. Around 1982/83 the focus changed to studio recording & Melton & Bladon left the band. The other 3 continued writing & recording & EMI Records signed them mid 1983. Unfortunately there were creative disagreements with EMI & they didn't progress out of the studio, finally being dropped at the end of 1984.

Their studio experiments continued for another couple of years but nothing was released & they stopped making music as AFX around 1986.

Nowadays Chris Hufford is well-known in music industry as the manager of Radiohead, Supergrass and Gamma Hayes, he also produced some of Radiohead's early recordings, a group he would help steer to massive global success. Chris also run his new project [a178469] (Downtempo, IDM, ambient)

In the year of 2010 a collection of 12 previously unreleased AFX tracks from 1980 and 1984 was released on CD by [l175948].

Comments about Aerial FX: