Harsh (2)

Members of Harsh (2): Jonne Kauko, Marko Kokkonen, Mikko Aspa

Discography of Harsh (2):

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Reality 23 Audio 2000 Civilisation Records
2 Implants 9 Audio 1998 Anomie Records (2)
3 Holterdiepolter / Harsh 11 Audio 1997 Yellow Dog Records
4 Untitled / Major Threat 23 Audio 1998 Mink Records
5 Harsh / Short Hate Temper / Quill 34 Audio 1998 T.V.G. Records
6 Flat Earth / Untitled 16 Audio 2004

Harsh was formed in the autumn of 1995 with an idea of doing intense fast hardcore like no-one else in Finland had done before. Influenced by Infest and others. Style developed during the years from straight-forward fast chaotic core to more complicated power violence/grind/hc/?? fusion with lots of tempo changes, strange riffs, stop'n'goes, and spastic blasts beat. All members contribute to the music and lyrics, sometimes more, sometimes less.

Original line-up splitted up permanently after a show in August '96. It took until spring '97 when 3 former members decided to continue without a guitar player and asked a new member to join for a 2nd bass.

During the whole existence of Harsh, the 4 members have lived in 3 different cities. Distance between some members is about 400 km, and this situation does not allow a regular rehearsal schedule. With the new line-up, their playing has become tighter, faster and skills to handle instruments have improved from the start. However, the amount of rehearsals has decreased, and the band is in a situation when they rehearse basically just before gigs or recordings, but not "just for fun", like many others.

Harsh is not a political band in the sense of what people often understand with that word. They deal with the subjects related to their daily life or thoughts. Occasionally lyrics can be a bit overstated, but writers always stand behind their words. There is a little difference between the lyrics of old and new Harsh.

Comments about Harsh (2):