Jellyfish Kiss

Members of Jellyfish Kiss: David Tomlinson, John Galvin

Discography of Jellyfish Kiss:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Stormy Weather 10 Audio 1991 Shimmy Disc
2 Eagle Eyes Pop! / Plank 9 Audio 1989 Demon Records
3 Gasoline Junkie 5 Audio 1989 Long Pig Records
4 Stormy Weather 10 Audio 1991 Shimmy Disc
5 Animal Rites 11 Audio 1990 Shimmy Disc
6 Plank 9 Audio 1990 Shimmy Disc
7 Big Driving EP 3 Audio 1992 Long Pig Records
8 Strange Weather 10 Audio 1991 Shimmy Disc
9 Big Driving EP 3 Audio 1992-04-27 Long Pig Records
10 Plank 9 Audio 1990 Demon Records
11 Plank 9 Audio 1990 Shimmy Disc
12 Stormy Weather 10 Audio 1991 Shimmy Disc

Jellyfish Kiss were an alternative rock band from Leeds, England.

The band was formed in late 85/early 86 by guitarist Mark Stein and drummer Mark Drew, who recruited other members, Geoff Bell (lead gtr), Barry (bass) and Cosmo Nasty (vox).

After some progress on the regional gigging circuit, dissatisfaction within the band forced some personnel changes, Geoff and Barry being replaced by Dave and Nik.

They released a début album, Gasoline Junkie in 1989 on the Long Pig label, before adding bassist John Galvin. They then signed to Demon Records who issued second album Plank in 1990.

They then moved to Kramer's Shimmy Disc label for two further albums, Animal Rites (1990) and Strange Weather (1991), with several line-up changes taking place (the Animal Rites line-up included Greg Seiver on drums and Mick Flanagan on keyboards).

Animal Rites was described as "mind-numbing" by Factsheet Five, who described it: "Imagine what would have happened if someone had handed Ravi Shankar an electric guitar instead of a sitar."

The band recorded a session for John Peel's BBC Radio 1 show in February 1990.

In November 1991 they received a setback when they were attacked on tour and had £5,000 worth of equipment stolen. After an EP in 1992 the band split up.

Singer David Tomlinson went on to form CNN/XC-NN, and later Tin Star, with former All About Eve and Sisters of Mercy guitarist Tim Bricheno.

Comments about Jellyfish Kiss: