Carmen Amaya

Also known as Amaya

Discography of Carmen Amaya:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 La Tana / Fandangos 2 Audio 1964 Odeon
2 Grandes Figures Du Flamenco Volume 6 15 Audio 1988 Le Chant Du Monde
3 Grandes Figures Du Flamenco Volume 6 15 Audio 1988 Le Chant Du Monde
4 Flamenco! 10 Audio 1958-04-00 Brunswick
5 Maria De La O / Fandangos / Mi Mare La Tana 3 Audio 1964 Odeon
6 Flamenco 10 Audio 2010-10-25 Calé Records
7 El Ritmo De Carmen Amaya 4 Audio 1963 Brunswick
8 Flamenco! 10 Audio 1958 Decca
9 Spanien Tanzt 11 Audio Varieton
10 El Clasico Flamenco De Carmen Amaya 4 Audio 1972 Disco Sorpresa Fundador
11 Furia ! 9 Audio 1965 Brunswick
12 Carmen Amaya Et Sa Compagnie 3 Audio Polydor

She was born in Barcelona in 1913. Of gypsy blood, she made her debut accompanied by her father, the flamenco guitarist José Amaya 'el Chino' in the Teatro Español Theatre in Barcelona when she was only four years old. From that time on she began to earn a living dancing in bars and taverns. In 1929, together with her aunt Juana 'la Faraona' and her cousin María, she set up the Trío Amaya, with which she performed in Paris. From 1935 she embarked on several tours of all the main American and European venues. She performed in various theatres in Madrid, including the Coliseum and La Zarzuela theatre, in shows by other artists such as Concha Piquer. Her skill was also immortalised in films such as 'Los Tarantos' (Alfredo Mañas, 1962). She died in Bagur (Girona) in 1963.

Comments about Carmen Amaya: