Squirrel Bait

Also known as Squirrelbait Youth
Members of Squirrel Bait: Ben Daughtrey, Brian McMahan, Britt Walford, Clark Johnson, David Grubbs, Peter Searcy, Rich Schuler

Discography of Squirrel Bait:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Skag Heaven 10 Audio 1986 Homestead Records
2 Skag Heaven 10 Audio 1997-01-20
3 Squirrel Bait 8 Audio 1997-01-20
4 Skag Heaven 10 Audio 1997-01-20
5 Kid Dynamite 2 Audio 1986-08-00 Homestead Records
6 Squirrelbait Youth 10 Audio 1982 Watergate Tapes
7 Skag Heaven Plus 8 Bonus Tracks 18 Audio 1987 Homestead Records
8 Skag Heaven 10 Audio 1986 Homestead Records
9 Squirrel Bait Test Pressing 8 Audio 1985-10-28 Homestead Records

Squirrel Bait was a punk rock band formed in the early 1980's in Louisville, KY, by guitarist David Grubbs and bassist Clark Johnson. The group's first demo tape, released under the name Squirrelbait Youth, featured drummer Rich Schuler and saw Grubbs handle both guitar and vocals. The group's second demo featured drummer Britt Walford and vocalist Peter Searcy and saw the group move away from the hardcore sounds of the first demo. 1985's self-titled EP received much critical accalim and saw Ben Daughtry take over the drums while Brian McMahan join as second guitarist (two of the EP's tracks, which feature Walford on drums, were taken directly from the band's second demo). The same line-up recorded the band's only LP, 1987's "Skag Heaven". The group broke up after its release, with the split owing as much to personal and musical differences within the band as it did to Johnson and Grubbs' decision to leave Louisville for college. Grubbs and Johnson would reunite in [a=Bastro] while McMahan and Walford, who, while never in Squirrel Bait at the same time, had played together in various bands since grade school, went on to form [a=Slint]. In the mid 1990s, Grubbs reissued the self-titled EP and "Skag Heaven" on his short-lived [l=Dexter's Cigar] imprint.

Comments about Squirrel Bait: