Hugh Hopper Band

Also known as Hugh Hopper Franglodutch Band
Members of Hugh Hopper Band: Dionys Breukers, Frank van der Kooy, Hugh Hopper, Kim Weemhoff, Patrice Meyer, Pieter Bast, Pip Pyle, Robert Jarvis

Discography of Hugh Hopper Band:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Alive! 9 Audio 1993 Voiceprint
2 Meccano Pelorus 6 Audio 1991 Wayside Music Archive Series
3 Carousel 10 Audio 1995 Cuneiform Records
4 Carousel 10 Audio 1995 Cuneiform Records
5 Alive! 6 Audio 1991 Not On Label (Hugh Hopper Self-released)
6 Alive! 9 Audio Blueprint (Voiceprint)
7 Meccano Pelorus 6 Audio 2005 Cuneiform Records

Band led by bassist Hugh Hopper and formed in 1985 after his five-year sabbatical from music, at the suggestion of a Netherlands-based [a152680] enthusiast. Initially consisting only of Dutch musicians alongside Hopper, the original sextet was called "Hopper Goes Dutch". When French guitarist Patrice Meyer joined in 1989, it became known as the "FrangloDutch Band". But on albums they were renamed "Hugh Hopper Band".

By the late Nineties, the band had ground to a halt, its "Franglo" and "Dutch" contingents now leading separate lives. Hopper then assembled a new 100% French quartet with Patrice Meyer, which was duly christened the [url=]FrangloBand[/url].

Comments about Hugh Hopper Band: