Springbok Nude Girls

Members of Springbok Nude Girls: Adriaan Brand (2), Arno Carstens, Brendan Jury, Lee Thompson (3), Theo Crous
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.nudegirls.co.za/

Discography of Springbok Nude Girls:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Album Sampler 3 Audio 1999 Epic
2 It Became A Weapon 6 Audio 1996 Epic
3 Om Ni So Fa 5 Audio 1998 Epic
4 Opti Mum 5 Audio 1998 Epic
5 Peace Breaker 12 Audio 2007 Sony Music Entertainment (South Africa)
6 Surpass The Powers 11 Audio 1999 Epic
7 Neanderthal 1 10 Audio 1995 Bluegum Records
8 Neanderthal 1 10 Audio 1995 Epic
9 Un - E.Z. 2 Audio 1999 Epic
10 Nude Girls 17 Audio 2006 Sony BMG

Naming themselves after the infamous "Springbok" compilation cover girls, the [b]Springbok Nude Girls[/b] were formed in Stellenbosch, Western Cape by vocalist Arno Carstens, guitarist Theo Crous, drummer Francious Kruger and bassist Arno Blumer in September 1994.

In April of the following year Adriaan Brand joins them as trumpet and synthesizer player, and in August they independently produce and release their first CD, titled "Neanderthal 1".

Following huge interest and coverage by the South African media, the band promised to be the next great thing - and delivered! In June 1996 they were signed to Epic.

Other albums, official bootlegs and EPs followed throughout the years, as well as numerous tours and appearances in Belgium (Pukkelpop), Namibia, Germany, London, and of course back home at the Grahamstown Arts Festival, Oppikoppi, 5fm's Birthday Bash, the Rand Easter Show...

1999's "Surpass the Powers" album, produced by [a=Kevin Shirley], came in two flavours: a local version (featuring new material), and an international version (featuring reworked versions of some of their older material). This was followed by "Relaxzor" in 2000.

Their final tour took them through SA and London before the band called it quits in October 2001 to pursue individual interests. Sony released a greatest-hits album entitled "The Fat Lady Sings - Best Of The Springbok Nude Girls 1995-2001" a few weeks later.

In 2005 the band regrouped with its four original members, now joined by Brendan Jury (viola and synthesizer) and Lee Thomson (trumpet) and the following year formally reunited with the return of trumpeter Adriaan Brand. Their first new album in four years, "Peace Breaker", was released in March 2007.

Comments about Springbok Nude Girls: