Junk Monkeys

Also known as Junk Monkeys, The
Members of Junk Monkeys: Dave Boutette, David Bierman, Kevin Perri
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.myspace.com/thejunkmonkeys

Discography of Junk Monkeys:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Untitled 4 Audio
2 Soil X Samples 9 2 Audio 1993
3 Five Star Fling 10 Audio 1991 Metal Blade Records
4 Firehouse 9 Audio 1987 Happy Face
5 Kick Out The Jelly! 7 Audio 1988 Happy Face
6 Bliss/Boys Don't Cry 2 Audio 1993 Metal Blade Records
7 Soul Cakes 10 Audio 1989 Metal Blade Records

Started originally as Mystery Girls around early Eighties in Detroit/Michigan by David Bierman (Guitar, Vocals), Dave Boutette (Guitar), Kevin Perri (Bass, Vocals) and Dan Allen (Drums, Vocals). They recorded one EP "Bagged" in 1985, which was released in 1986 by SOS Records in Detroit. This EP contained 7 tracks, 5 of them were recorded live at Paychecks Lounge, Detroit on 09/08/1985. Short after the release they changed their name into The Junk Monkeys. In 1987 they released on the small Happy Face Records Label their Debut Album "Firehouse". It was followed in 1988 by the Mini Album "Kick Out The Jelly!" again on the same Label. They were then signed to Metal Blade Records from Los Angeles. In 1989 a complilation of their previous 2 Records with the name "Soul Cakes" was the first Release on the new Record Label. Two of the ten Tracks were previously unreleased, "Trade" and "Time Ain´t On My Side". It was followed in 1990 by a full length Album with new material called "Five Star Fling". It contained a Cover Version of the Pete Townsend Composition "A Quick One, While He´s Away", orginally recorded in 1966 by The Who. They also re-recorded "Everything Remains The Same" from their own Debut Album "Firehouse". After that release Original Drummer Dan Allen left the Band and was replaced by Glynn Scanlan. For their final recording "Bliss" from 1992 they added a Organ/Piano Player Todd McKinney for some Tracks. The rumor goes that there was a Live Recording planned to release in 1995 with the title "Follies Review". The Band made a final Live show in 2001 when the Detroit´s Gold Dollar Bar was closing. On October 10th in 2009 they reunited for one Concert at the Lagerhouse in Detroit. Inbetween these years David Bierman and Glynn Scanlan started a new band with the Name Swig. They released two albums "Furia" (1999) and "True Grit" (2006) on Cabbage Head Records. Guitarrist Dave Boutette started a Solo Carreer and released his first recording "Memos, Demos And Hard To Reach Places" in 1999 on Thursday Records. It was followed by "The Old Dog Songbook" on the same Label. Later he released "Confetti" (2004) and "The Piccolo Heart" (2007), both on Embassy Hotel Records to be followed by "Boomtown & Candidate" (2009) and "Mending Time" (2011) both self released.

Comments about Junk Monkeys: