Zen (8)

Members of Zen (8): Dirk Van Der Ploeg, Duco De Rijk, Harry Rijnbergen

Discography of Zen (8):

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Hair / Aquarius 2 Audio 1968 Philips
2 Get Me Down / Wayfaring Stranger 2 Audio 1969 Philips
3 Hair 12 Audio 1969
4 Hair / Take Her Home 2 Audio Philips
5 Hair 24 Audio 2002 Rotation
6 De La Comédie Musicale “Hair” 2 Audio Philips
7 Get Me Down / Wayfaring Stranger 2 Audio 1969 Pip Records (4)
8 Again 12 Audio Ariola
9 Hair 2 Audio Philips
10 Lost Suede Shoes / Green Crocodile II 2 Audio 1973 Ariola
11 You Better Start Running Away From Me 4 Audio 1976 Philips

This Amsterdam pop group was already popular on the local scene for years before they got nationally famous with the hit "Hair" from the musical of the same title.

The band was formed in 1965 by Siebe van der Zee (v, s, fl, b); various other members came and went: Caro Kalkman (v), [a1486047] (v, g, later solo), Valentijn Geverts (dr, o, p, in 1968 replaced by Wim Taarling, ex-Trix & Paramounts), Bart Bos (b) and [a1486046] (v, g, member from 1967 'til 1970, ex-Graaf X & Klimax, in 1970 to Gallery). In 1968, John Brands (ex-Elements, to Playboys and solo) joined as a singer. Supported by Radio Veronica, the band slowly garnered national recognition. In fact, they ended up topping the 1968 Hitweek hit parade chart! After the split of the Rodijs from Groningen in 1969, the latter group merged together with Zen, resulting in the following line-up: Siebe, Bart, Wim, Ben Groen (g, ex-Rodijs) and Harry Rijnbergen (v, g, ex-Rodijs, to Harley Jay), and 2 singles.

In 1970, Zen broke up. Two years later, Siebe came up with a new line-up for his group: Dave Freeland (v, s, o, p), Ruud Klokgieter (v, g), Ed Postema (b, g, to Stud), Johan van der Meer (v, b) and Floris van Manen (dr, later in Bots). Ed was replaced by Peter Huying in 1973. This line-up existed 'til 1974, during which time one LP was made. In 1975 the band featured: Siebe van der Zee (v, s, fl), Tony Souren (v), Peter Huying (g), Dick Hendriks (dr, in 1975 replaced by Peter Swinkels who later went to Attraction), Ruud Klokgieter (v, g) and (for a short while) Alex de Laar (v). Come 1977, the new Zen included: Ar Jelier (o, p, v, to Intercity), Frank Tijdink (g, to Intercity), Dick Tolsma (to Joe Monroe Band), Siegfried de Jong and Cor Kerker.

Comments about Zen (8):