Mighty Baby

Also known as Mightybaby
Members of Mighty Baby: Alan King (3), Ian Whiteman, Martin Stone (2), Mike Evans, Roger Powell (2)
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.actionmightybaby.co.uk/

Discography of Mighty Baby:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Mighty Baby 15 Audio 1994 Big Beat Records
2 Mighty Baby 8 Audio 1969 Head (3)
3 Egyptian Tomb 8 Audio Psycho Records
4 A Jug Of Love 11 Audio 2006 Sunbeam Records
5 Live In The Attic 8 Audio 2009 Sunbeam Records
6 Live In The Attic 8 Audio 2009 Sunbeam Records
7 A Jug Of Love 6 Audio BSF
8 A Jug Of Love 6 Audio 2006 Sunbeam Records
9 Tasting The Life: Live 1971 8 Audio 2010 Sunbeam Records
10 Live In The Attic 2 Audio 2000 Rolled Gold Productions
11 Devil's Whisper 2 Audio 1971 Blue Horizon
12 Mighty Baby 8 Audio 2006 Lightning Tree
13 Mighty Baby 8 Audio 1969 Head (3)
14 A Jug Of Love 6 Audio 2012 Sunbeam Records
15 Mighty Baby 8 Audio 1969 Head (3)
16 Egyptian Tomb / I'm From The Country 2 Audio Philips
17 Mighty Baby 8 Audio 2013 Head (3)
18 Devil's Whisper / Virgin Spring 2 Audio 1971 Philips

Formed in 1968 by ex-members of The Action (a beat-psych outfit with mod/soul elements), Mighty Baby were a UK hippy prog outfit active through to 1971. Typically British but very wide-ranging, they bridged many rock/prog styles, with blues and folk elements (comparisons include: Wishbone Ash, early Hawkwind, Magic Muscle, etc.), and not unlike Quintessence a few members got heavily into Muslim philosophy which had a significant impact on the music as well. Some quote them as the British Grateful Dead.

To many Mighty Baby are best-known for the live recording "A Blanket In My Muesli" on [r552348], which sees them jamming in the vein of freeform extended Man or The Grateful Dead. There is more material in this vein on the "Live In The Attic" and "Tasting The Life: Live 1971" archive collections.

Comments about Mighty Baby: