Count Basie's Kansas City Five

Also known as Kansas City Five, Kansas City Five, The

Discography of Count Basie's Kansas City Five:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label

When they had time off from the [a=Count Basie Orchestra] in the late 1930s, the Count's rhythm musicians formed a small ensemble called [b]The Kansas City Five[/b], with trumpeter Buck Clayton, drummer Jo Jones, bassist Walter Page, rhythm guitarist Freddie Green and Eddie Durham's electric guitar (as a replacement for Count Basie's piano). When Lester Young joined the band in 1938, on clarinet and tenor sax, it became the [a=Kansas City Six].


Buck Clayton (Trumpet)

Eddie Durham (Guitar)

Freddie Green (Guitar)

Jo Jones (Drums)

Walter Page (Bass)

Comments about Count Basie's Kansas City Five: