Yannick Franck

Yannick Franck

Also known as Y. Franck
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.yannickfranck.com/, http://yannickfranck.bandcamp.com/, http://www.facebook.com/yannick.franck

Discography of Yannick Franck:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Lux Aeterna 3 Audio 2005 Idiosyncratics (2)
2 Improvisation, March 2006 3 Audio 2006-04-20 Homophoni
3 Whinny Muir 3 Audio 2011-06-00 Silentes Minimal Editions
4 Austral 3 Audio 2009 Onement
5 The Basement Continuum 4 Audio 2011 Not On Label
6 Mustalampi 4 Audio 2010 Not On Label
7 Memorabilia 7 Audio 2011 Silken Tofu
8 The Staircase Continuum 4 Audio 2011-09-09 Young Girls Records
9 Once Again, They Hurled Their Defiance At The Stars 4 Audio 2012 Idiosyncratics (2)
10 Wool-E's Choice 2 Audio 2012-07-05 silken tofu
11 Hierophany | Иерофания 3 Audio 2012-12-29 Monochrome Vision
12 Flowers For L.P. 3 Audio 2013-05-15 Idiosyncratics (2)
13 The Utmost Night 4 Audio 2014-03-23 taâlem
14 The Utmost Night 4 Audio 2014-03-23 taâlem
15 The Utmost Night 4 Audio 2014-03-23 taâlem

Musician, performer and founder of Idiosyncratics Records, Yannick Franck has developed an increasingly personal style that combines sharp acoustic research and abrasive walls of sound. Often described as trance-inducing, his music is based on the treatment of sources such as instruments and non-musical objects, voice, radio signals and field recordings. It ranges from fundamental acoustic explorations (The Staircase Continuum) to more stylistic-expressionistic searches (Memorabilia); two fields of investigation that tend to collide in his latest works.

Franck is part of electroacoustic-noise improvisation project Y.E.R.M.O., with guitar player Xavier Dubois and drummer Jason Van Gulick.

They have collaborated with artists Gast Bouschet and Nadine Hilbert on a number of projects. They created soundtracks for the artists' political installation Collision Zone, held at the Pavilion of Luxembourg, Venice Biennial 2009. Additional collaborations include their intense audiovisual performances, Things to Come, Collision Zone, and Toward The Event Horizon." 

In the past, Yannick Franck has collaborated with Pietro Riparbelli / K11, Craig Hilton (Gauchiste, Loincloth), Phil Maggi, Alan Trench (World Serpent, Temple Music, Orchis) and Esther Venrooy among others and his music has been released on several labels including Silken Tofu, Young Girls Records, Sylvain Chauveau's concept record house Onement and Italian label Silentes. 

Comments about Yannick Franck: