Clancy Hayes

Clarence Leonard Hayes

Also known as Clancy, Hayes

Discography of Clancy Hayes:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Oh By Jingo 12 Audio 1975 Delmark Records
2 Direct From San Francisco! 12 Audio 1957 Good Time Jazz
3 Scobey And Clancy 11 Audio 1956 Good Time Jazz
4 Clancy Hayes Sings 12 Audio Down Home Records
5 Oh By Jingo 12 Audio 1975 Delmark Records
6 Happy Melodies 12 Audio 1965 ABC-Paramount
7 College Classics 12 Audio 1958 RCA Victor
8 LU WATTERS' Yerba Buena Jazz Band Clancy Hayes Vocals 10 Audio Homespun Records
9 Between 18th And 19th On Any Street 23 Audio 1957
10 Bob Scobeys Frisco Band Vol. 3 8 Audio 1959 Good Time Jazz
11 Scobey And Clancy 11 Audio 1956 Good Time Jazz
12 Cakewalk To Lindy Hop 12 Audio 1956 Columbia
13 Swingin' On The Golden Gate 12 Audio RCA Victor
14 Clancy Hayes Sings 12 Audio Verve Records
15 Ace In The Hole / 2:19 Blues 2 Audio Good Time Jazz
16 Aspen Magazine Vol. 1, No. 1: Two Sides Of Jazz 4 Audio 1965 Roaring Fork Press
17 More Of Manassas 8 Audio 1969 Fat Cat Jazz Records
18 Mr. Hayes Goes To Washington 11 Audio 1972 Clanco Productions

American banjo player and singer.

b. November 14, 1908 (Caney, KS, USA)

d. March 13, 1972 (San Francisco, CA, USA)

Joined [a=Lu Watters And The Yerba Buena Jazz Band] in 1938 and continued to play with [a=Lu Watters] throughout the '40s, as well as with [a=Bunk Johnson] in 1944. He played with [a=Bob Scobey] in the '50s and worked as a soloist during the '60s with [a=Firehouse Five Plus Two] and [a=Turk Murphy]. He was an original member of [a=World's Greatest Jazzband, The] and took part in its first recordings, but by then his health was already suffering due to cancer.

Comments about Clancy Hayes: