Members of Crimpshrine: Aaron Cometbus, Idon Bryant, Jeff Ott, Paul Curran (2), Pete Rypins
This performer (group) in the Internet:,

Discography of Crimpshrine:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Lame Gig Contest 14 Audio 1989-06-27 Musical Tragedies
2 Quit Talkin' Claude...E.P. 4 Audio 1989 Lookout! Records
3 The Sound Of A New World Being Born 18 Audio 1998
4 Better Half / Sanctuary 2 Audio 1993 Skene! Records
5 Sleep, What's That? E.P. 4 Audio 1988-01-30 Lookout! Records
6 Split 5 Audio 1988-12-31 No Idea Records
7 Duct Tape Soup 16 Audio 1998 Lookout! Records
8 The Sound Of A New World Being Born 18 Audio 1998 Lookout! Records
9 Duct Tape Soup 16 Audio 1998
10 Duct Tape Soup 16 Audio 1992 Lookout! Records
11 Duct Tape Soup L.P. 16 Audio Lookout! Records
12 Burning Bridges EP / "Angel...Your Hair Looks Good!" E.p. 4 Audio 1990 No Reality Records
13 Sleep, What's That? 4 Audio 1988 Lookout! Records
14 Lame Gig Contest 14 Audio Musical Tragedies

Highly influential punk band from Berkeley, California. The original incarnation of Crimpshrine consisted of [a=Aaron Cometbus], [a=Jeff Ott] (12 years old at the time) and [a=Jesse Michaels] (who would later form [a=Operation Ivy]), and was formed in the summer of 1982. At that time, the group went by the name "S.A.G." A few demos from this period may survive on tape, and at least one track from this era was released on a compilation put out by Cometbus in the early 1990s.

S.A.G. broke up with the departure of Jesse Michaels in 1984, and the band changed their name to Crimpshrine and went through a whirlwind of lineup changes (including a brief stint with [a=Tim Armstrong] (pre-Operation Ivy) on bass). In 1986, the band began to play live shows, and in early 1987, their first demo was recorded.

Crimpshrine released several 7" records, and an LP on [l=Lookout! Records], as well as a now extremely rare LP on Musical Tragedies (a German label). They also were featured on many compilations.

Crimpshrine disbanded in 1989 (although their last recordings would make their way onto a split 7" in 1990).

Crimpshrine members would go on to play in, [a=Fifteen], [a=Operation Ivy], [a=Rancid], [a=Shotwell Coho], [a=Pinhead Gunpowder], [a=Sweet Babys], [a=Tilt (2)] and many other East Bay bands.

Comments about Crimpshrine: