Bobby G. Rice

Also known as B. G. Rice, D. Rise, Rice, Robert Gene Rice
This performer (group) in the Internet:

Discography of Bobby G. Rice:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 You Lay So Easy On My Mind / There Ain't No Way Babe 2 Audio 1972 Metromedia Country
2 Sugar Shack 4 Audio 1970 Royal American
3 Lover Please 4 Audio Royal American
4 The Whole World Is Making Love Again Tonight 2 Audio 1973 Metromedia Country
5 Suspicion 2 Audio 1972 Royal American
6 The Best Of Bobby G. Rice 10 Audio 1980 Sunbird Records (3)
7 Oh Baby Mine (I Get So Lonely) / Rainbows Are Back In Style 2 Audio 1979 Republic Records (3)
8 The Softest Touch In Town / Passion 2 Audio 1978 Republic Records (3)
9 Whisper It To Me / Sweet Cherry Lips 2 Audio 1978 Republic Records (3)
10 Just One Kiss Magdalena / The Love She Offered You 2 Audio 1977 GRT
11 Mountain Of Love / Five O'Clock World 2 Audio Royal American
12 You Are My Special Angel 2 Audio 1976 GRT
13 Woman Stealer / Burning Bridges 2 Audio 1976 GRT
14 You Give Me You 2 Audio 1976 GRT
15 Whisper It To Me / Sweet Cherry Lips 2 Audio 1978 Republic Records (3)
16 Red Neck And Over Thirty 2 Audio 1986 Door Knob Records
17 Suspicion 2 Audio 1972 Royal American
18 The Man Who Takes You Home / Sweet Molly Brown 2 Audio Sunbird Records
19 Pardon My French / Some Lovin' Time With You 2 Audio 1981 Charta Records
20 Write Me A Letter/Sweet Satisfying Feeling 2 Audio 1974 GRT

From the heartland of America, Bobby G. Rice first burst forth onto the music scene with a 1970 revival of the popular Jimmy Gilmore pop classic “Sugar Shack” and then Bruce Channel’s “Hey Baby”.

Born into a musical family with its own radio show, Bobby began performing publicly at an early age. Later he decided to test his wings as a solo artist in his native Wisconsin.

He succeeded, however, beyond expectations: scoring nationally. As a stylist, he proved especially adept in adding country flavor to spicy standards like “Lover Please”, “Mountain of Love” and “Suspicion”

Still, it was in introducing his own song “You Lay So Easy On My Mind” in late 1972, that he found a lasting niche in country music. “You Lay so Easy On My Mind” went on to be his first number one national chart record and was later recorded by such artists as Conway Twitty and Loretta Lynn, Roy Orbison, Pat Boone, Andy Williams, David Houston, Jerry Springer and others. Proving he was no “one-hit wonder”, he scored the next spring with another Top 10 tune “You Give Me You”.

He is that rare breed who shows us that, talent will win, by recording his initial hits on independent labels. With his career in high gear, he followed through with more Top 10 singles, among them, “Write Me A Letter” and “Freda Comes Freda Goes”. Country classics he has breathed new life into include, “Pick Me Up On Your Way Down”, “My Special Angel” and “Oh Baby Mine”.

Comments about Bobby G. Rice: