Duke (12)

Kevin Pope

Also known as Duke, Kelvin Pope, Mighty Duke, Mighty Duke, The

Discography of Duke (12):

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 The Phung-Uh-Nung Sweet 6 Audio 1992 Straker's Records
2 Total Dis-Order 6 Audio 1989 JW Productions
3 Hotel Time 5 Audio 1991 Charlie's Records
4 Poetry & Music 10 Audio 1977 Charlie's Records
5 Carnival Fire / Uhuru 2 Audio 1977 Charlie's Records
6 Carnival Anniversary 6 Audio 1983 Straker's Records
7 Calypso Forever 6 Audio 1984 Straker's Records
8 Yesterday Today Tomorrow 6 Audio 1987 Lem's Records
9 In These Times 6 Audio 1986 Straker's Records
10 Over And Over And Over Again 6 Audio 1982 B's Records
11 Poison 6 Audio 1988 JW Productions
12 Is Thunder/Love Vibrations 2 Audio 1987 Hot Vinyl
13 Mask 10 Audio 1994 Ice Records
14 The Bumsy Is Mine 6 Audio 1993 Spice Island Records
15 Black Is Beautiful 2 Audio Tropico
16 Tribute To Maestro 10 Audio 1978 Charlie's Records
17 Crime Wave / Grenada Girl 4 Audio 1968 Telco
18 Classic Collection 1986-1990 10 Audio 1995 JW Productions

Born in Point Fortin, South Trinidad, ‘Duke’ carved a niche in the calypso world for himself at a time when he had to compete with some of the biggest names in the business. His unique voice, mastery of composition and a knack for picking the right social themes made him a popular favorite with calypso enthusiasts.

He became renowned not only for delivering social commentary: political and witty, humorous songs with equal skill, dignity and lyrical mastery, but also for his charismatic stately stage presence and for being one of the best-dressed calypsonians of all time. Indeed, his sartorial skills were often the envy of those in an industry pregnant with prima donnas and rife with egotists.

To date, Duke is the only Calypsonian in Trinidad and Tobago’s history to have won the Calypso Monarch title four consecutive times: 1968 with “What is Calypso” and “Social Bacchanal,” 1969 with “Black is Beautiful” and “One Foot Visina,” 1970 with “Brotherhood of Man” and “See Through” and 1971 with “Mathematical Formula” and “Melvie and Yvonne.” He also won the Road March Title with “Thunder” in 1987.

In a career that spanned over 50 years, Duke consistently demonstrated that he had a firm grasp of international and regional Caribbean issues and a thorough understanding of the importance of a global awareness. With such songs as “How Many More Must Die” and “Apartheid” he was a vocal critic of colonialism and apartheid in Africa. In 1970, Mighty Duke was honored with the Humming Bird gold medal for his musical accomplishments.

The Duke lived a long and fulfilling life recording Calypsos from 1964. His Calypsos remain a living testament to the momentous contribution of this mighty calypso icon and he will be remembered for his passion for the art form and one of the best in the business – present or past. Below are some of the songs that Duke recorded over the years:

1964 - Woop Wap; Racial Segregation

1968 - What Is Calypso, Social Bacchanal

1969 - All Night, Tonight; Black Is Beautiful; Bring It Back; One Foot Visina

1970 - Beast for Sale; Brotherhood of Man; See Through

1971 - Mathematical Formula; Melvie and Yvonne; Carnival in Trinidad

1973 - Tonight

1974 - Ah Never Do That; Ah Wish Ah Was; Axe Handle Freda; Class Is Class; Cock of the Rock

1977 - Uhuru; Mr. Jarvis; Be Yourself; Black Is Back; Calypso Will Never Die; The Cannibals; Carnival Fire

1978 - Barbers Complaints; Black Woman; Carnival Time 1979 -Bam Bam Oui; Do What You Doing

1980 - Freaking Streaking

1981 - Answer the Question; A Point of Direction

1982 - Mystery of Life; No Man But Me; Advantage; Babylon Go Fall

1983 - Love Me All Over; DJ Honeyneedle

1984 - Rock Meh; Land of Love

1985 - Ah Got The Feeling; Apartheid; Artificial World

1986 - How Many More Must Die; Treat Your Woman Nice; Ah Want You To Love Me

1987 - Thunder

1988 - Outrageous; Pan in Yuh Rookcung-Kertungcung; Acid Wash

1989 - Yahhh Hhhh; Ah Tired Do That

1991 - Get on Radical

1992 - Rocket in Yuh Pocket

1993 - Role Model; Yuh Come to Dance

1994 - Soca Have Meh Tu Bey

1995 - Don’t Destroy Calypso; Get A Life

1996 - Play Yourself; Furhman

2000 - Things Chang

2001 - Memories of the Yeare Up; Horn Proof; There’s No Excuse.

Comments about Duke (12):