Music Tapes, The

Julian Koster

Members of Music Tapes, The: Julian Koster, Thomas Hughes
This performer (group) in the Internet:,,

Discography of Music Tapes, The:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 First Imaginary Symphony For Nomad 17 Audio 1999-07-06 Merge Records
2 Music Tapes For Clouds And Tornadoes 15 Audio 2008-08-19 Merge Records
3 The Television Tells Us 2 Audio 1998 Earworm
4 Purim's Shadows (The Dark Tours The World) 7 Audio 2011-06-14 Merge Records
5 Purim's Shadows (The Dark Tours The World) 6 Audio 2011 Not On Label (The Music Tapes Self-Released)
6 Mary's Voice 12 Audio 2012-09-04 Merge Records
7 Mary's Voice 14 Audio 2012-09-04 Merge Records
8 Purim's Shadows (The Dark Tours The World) 7 Audio 2011-06-14 Merge Records
9 A Lightning's Cheeks 3 Audio 2012 Not on label
10 For The Planet Pluto 3 Audio 2012 Not on label

The Music Tapes started life as a creative outlet for the 16 year old Julian Koster (later of Neutral Milk Hotel), who would create tapes of songs and stories as means of escapism, which he would share with his friends, culminating in 'The American Phoam Rubber Co. Symphony Orchestra Proudly Presents the 2nd Silly Putty Symphony for Edison Wax Cylander', which was essentially tape collage. In 1989, Koster formed the band Chocolate USA, a more conventional indie-pop band, which also included Bill Doss and Eric Harris, later (along with Koster, though somewhat unofficially) members of the Olivia Tremor Control. The band released two full albums, All Jets Are Gonna Fall Today and Smoke Machine, before splitting in 1994, after which Koster chose to focus his creative efforts on the Music Tapes once more. In 1999 Julian released the album First Imaginary Symphony For Nomad, featuring a slew of musicians helping him, most notably Robbie Cucchiaro and Eric Harris. Ten years later Music Tapes for Clouds and Tornadoes was released, featuring the usual bevy of artists, most notably an eight foot tall metronome

Comments about Music Tapes, The: