Os Mundi

Members of Os Mundi: Andreas Villain, Buddy Mandler, Christoph Busse, Dietrich Markgraf, Mikro Rilling, Tanja Berg, Udo Arndt

Discography of Os Mundi:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 43 Minuten 9 Audio 1972
2 Sturmflut 7 Audio 2008 Garden Of Delights
3 Latin Mass 7 Audio 1970 Metronome
4 43 Minuten 9 Audio 2004
5 43 Minutes 9 Audio 2004 Mason Records
6 Latin Mass 7 Audio 2011
7 43 Minuten 9 Audio
8 43 Minuten 9 Audio 2013 Missing Vinyl

Os Mundi are one of the most important key bands of the early Berlin Krautrock scene. They were rooted in the bands: Safebreakers (1962+) and Orange Surprise, changing into Os Mundi circa 1969/70. The band's initials OS gave rise to the name Os Mundi, Latin for "The World" - apt when their debut LP was called "A Latin Mass".

Os Mundi played heavy psychedelic prog moving onto more fusion realms with their second LP. A third album was never properly completed, although the band did exist on and off until 1980. In addition to 2 classic LP's and an archive CD, unreleased live recordings also exist from 1972 and 1979.

Undocumented members include: Steve Jolliffe in an early line-up (before Steamhammer and Tangerine Dream), Ute Kannenberg from Metropolis, and Agitation Free main-man Michael Günther was in later incarnations.

Comments about Os Mundi: