Mirko Uhlig

Also known as M. Uhlig, MirkoUhlig, Uhlig
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.mirkouhlig.com/

Discography of Mirko Uhlig:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Storm: Outside Calm Tamed 3 Audio 2007 Aal
2 The Nightmiller 3 Audio 2008 Mystery Sea
3 The Vertical Horse Lesson 9 Audio 2008-10-06 Ibrik
4 Supper 7 Audio 2008-11-00 Afe Records
5 Gyokuro 6 Audio 2009-05-04 Gears Of Sand
6 Sanddorn 2 Audio 2009-08-15
7 The Strings That Heal The Orchestra 3 Audio 2010-04-18 taâlem
8 The Strings That Heal The Orchestra 3 Audio 2010-04-20 taâlem
9 An Ear For Love 3 Audio 2010-09-20 Montevideo Records
10 The Rabbit's Locked Book 4 Audio 2010-09-20 Montevideo Records
11 Gerontology 5 Audio 2011-01-18 Denovali Records
12 Tupelo 6 Audio 2011-05-15 Gruenrekorder
13 Gerontology 5 Audio 2011 Denovali Records

Mirko Uhlig (*1981 in Aachen, Germany) is a German musician and producer in the contemporary field of drone and minimal ambient music, and co-founder of Ex Ovo Records.

He first appeared with surreal sound collages and musique concrète-techniques under the moniker Aalfang Mit Pferdekopf (catching eels with a horse's head) around 2004.

After releasing four albums and some EPs (on Aal, Einzeleinheit, Taâlem, Mystery Sea and Drone Records) Uhlig decided to release his now much more minimalistic and serene works under a less delusive name.

Uhlig's music is inspired by pioneers of drone and minimalistic music such as La Monte Young, early Tangerine Dream, Brian Eno, David Lynch, William Basinski and current Hafler Trio; echoing the blurred distance of a late Turner painting.

Beside various field recordings, the wooden sounds of an old acoustic six-string, a battered accordion and an original Indian shruti-box build the acoustic sources for the process of composing and letting go.

Mirko Uhlig currently lives in Bonn, Germany.

Comments about Mirko Uhlig: