Effigies, The

Also known as Effigies
Members of Effigies, The: Chris Bjorklund, Earl Letiecq, Joe Haggerty, John Kezdy, Paul Zamost, Robert McNaughton, Robert O'Connor (2), Steve Economou, Tom Woods (2)
This performer (group) in the Internet: http://www.effigies.com, http://www.myspace.com/effigies

Discography of Effigies, The:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Remains Nonviewable 16 Audio 1995 Touch And Go
2 The Effigies 6 Audio 1984
3 Ink 10 Audio 1986 Enigma Records (3)
4 Remains Nonviewable 16 Audio 1995
5 Ink 10 Audio 1986 Restless Records
6 Remains Nonviewable 16 Audio 1995 Touch And Go

The Effigies are considered one of the first hardcore punk bands to come out of Chicago and, along with [a=Strike Under] and [a=Naked Raygun], one of the architects of the "Chicago Sound". Formed in either late 1979 or early 1980 in the suburb of Evanston, IL, the original line up included vocalist [a=John Kezdy], drummer [a=Steve Economou], bassist [a=Paul Zamost], and guitarist [a=Earl Letiecq] (aka "Oil"). Their vinyl debut consisted of two tracks on the "Busted At Oz" compilation in 1981. That same year, the released the "Haunted Town" EP on [l=Autumn Records (2)]. Dissatisified with Autumn's business practices, the band decided to form their own [l=Ruthless Records (2)] with friend Jon Babbin. Following their 1984 LP, "For Ever Ground", Letiecq was replaced by [a=Robert O'Connor (2)] and the band ditched their early stylings for a more "post punk" sound. Opinions on their later material was mixed and after 1986's "Ink" LP, the band split. In 1987, Kezdy reunited with Earl Letiecq and recruited drummer [a=Joe Haggerty] and bassist [a=Chris Bjorklund], both of the band [a=Bloodsport]. Earl split again the following year and Bjorklund moved to guitar, with Bloodsport bassist [a=Tom Woods (2)] joining the group. Unfortunately, these later line-ups never released any material. In 1989, [l=Roadkill Records (3)] issued "Remains Nonviewable", a compilation of early Effigies material. The band split for good shortly after. In the original line up reunited in 1992 to perform at the closing of the Exit, a Chicago punk bar, and again in the winter of late 1995/early 1996 to celebrate the CD reissue of "Remains Nonviewable" on [l=Touch And Go] Records. In 2004, Kezdy, Zamost, and Economou announced that they were reuniting again with intention of writing and recording new material. Guitarist [a=Robert McNaughton] took the place of Earl Letiecq, who declined the invitation to rejoin.

Comments about Effigies, The: