Enrique Melchor

Enrique Jiménez Ramírez

Also known as E. De Melchor, Enrique De Melchor, Enrique El De Melchor, Enrique Marchena, Melchor De Marchena, Melchor, Hijo

Discography of Enrique Melchor:

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Mi Sangre 10 Audio 1979 Olivo
2 Recordando A... 18 Audio 2012
3 Arte Flamenco 10 Audio 2005 Divucsa
4 Verde Junco / Hondas Raíces 19 Audio 2004
5 La Puerta Ronda 8 Audio 1990 Rtve Música
6 Sugerencias 10 Audio 1983 Zafiro
7 Let's Stay Together / Quedemonos Juntos 2 Audio 1983 Zafiro
8 Cuchichi 2 Audio 1992 Fonomusic
9 Verde Junco 11 Audio 1985 Philips
10 Let's Stay Together / Quedemonos Juntos 2 Audio 1983 Zafiro
11 La Noche Y El Dia 8 Audio 1991 Fonomusic
12 Ayer Y Hoy De La Guitarra Flamenca: De Sabicas A Paco De Lucía 17 Audio 2004 RBA Coleccionables, S.A.
13 La Marelu 10 Audio 1978 Discophon

Spanish flamenco guitarist, born 15 July 1951 in Marchena, Sevilla, Spain and died 3 January 2012 in Madrid, Spain.

He inherited his sensitivity for cante and his mastery to accompany it from his father Melchor de Marchena. However, he is a man of his time, that he has to live in, concerned with obtaining in-depth knowledge of the prevailing musical currents all over the world, from which he assimilates that which in some way or another is linked to his own conception of what flamenco music must be nowadays. He himself is the first to say that if flamenco looses its root identity, it is worthless. His music is thus not archeology, as he does not just reproduce what his predecessors did in this difficult art, nor does he move away from the original flamenco. He transmits emotions and feelings that are inherent to this time, on the basis of an orthodoxy that nobody could question in him. He began his career when barely an adolescent, in that daily school provided by the tablao. Now, in his creative fullness, he is one of the most sought after guitarists.

Comments about Enrique Melchor: