Shaman (3)

Jonne Järvelä.

Members of Shaman (3): Janne Leinonen, Nalle Österman, Toni Näykki
This performer (group) in the Internet:

Discography of Shaman (3):

# Release title Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Odda Mailbmi 3 Audio 1999 Snap Records (3)
2 Shamániac 12 Audio 2003 Irond

Shaman is a Finnish folk metal band formed in 1993 which is notable for the heavy use of original native Sámic music elements and lyrics in Sámi. The most widely used elements are the shamanic drum, yoik and humppa. Besides yoik, the vocals vary from clean to rather aggressive growling.

The musical style of Shaman is quite distinctive, especially in the slow songs, due to its entrancing atmosphere created by the monophonic, "narrow" synth sound making the deep contrast to the spacious sound of the acoustic guitar, the shamanic drum and yoik singing.

In 2003 the band had changed its name to Korpiklaani, as well as the music style to a more conventional folk metal with folk/thrash vocals instead of yoiking. The last album of Shaman Shamániac (2002) already featured much of the future Korpiklaani style.

Shaman had no permanent line up except the frontman Jonne Järvelä.

Line-up for the Idja album:

Jonne Järvelä - vocals, yoik, guitars, percussions

Tero Piirainen - guitars, keyboards, backing vocals

Juke Eräkangas - drums, keyboards, backing vocals

Ilkka Kilpeläinen - bass, backing vocals

Line-up for the Shamaniac album:

Jonne Järvelä - vocals, yoik, guitars, shamanic drum

Samu Ruotsalainen - drums and additional bass

Hosse Latvala - percussion drums

Veera Muhli - keyboards

Toni Nãykki - electric guitar

Henri "Trollhorn" Sorvali - keyboards

Janne G`thaur - bass

Comments about Shaman (3):