Gisle Martens Meyer

This performer (group) in the Internet:

Discography of Ugress:

# Release title Dwnld Total tracks Type of release is Imprint date Label
1 Resound ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 17 Audio 2002 Port Azur
2 Cinematronics ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 19 Audio 2004-08-23 Port Azur
3 Cinematronics ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 12 Audio 2004 Port Azur
4 Untitled ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 10 Audio 2001 Not On Label
5 Resound ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 11 Audio 2002 Port Azur
6 Sophisticated Wickedness ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 5 Audio 2006-02-00 Uncanny Planet Records
7 Retroconnaissance EP ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 4 Audio 2006-05-00 Uncanny Planet Records
8 Kosmonaut EP ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 4 Audio 2006-10-00 Uncanny Planet Records
9 Chromosome Corrupt EP ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 4 Audio 2007-09-00 Uncanny Planet Records
10 Loungemeister EP ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 5 Audio 2008 Uncanny Planet Records
11 The B Vault - Unreleased Tracks 2000-2007 ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 18 Audio 2008-01-00 Uncanny Planet Records
12 E-Pipe EP ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 4 Audio 2008 Uncanny Planet Records
13 Schizophonica ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 5 Audio 2009-03-20 Uncanny Planet Records
14 Pastel Artery Intersections ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2007-08-09 Uncanny Planet Records
15 Out ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2001 Uncanny Planet Records
16 Coffee ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2008-01-28 Uncanny Planet Records
17 Swing E Sesso (Remix) ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2002 Uncanny Planet Records
18 A Touch Of Monsoon ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2007-02-17 Uncanny Planet Records
19 It Was A Great Year (Movies With Robots) ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2009-04-20 Uncanny Planet Records
20 The Ultimate Fix ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2007-12-20 Uncanny Planet Records
21 Redrum ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2008-01-14 Uncanny Planet Records
22 La Passion De Jeanne D'Arc ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 20 Audio 2008 Uncanny Planet Records
23 Film Music ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 23 Audio 2006 Uncanny Planet Records
24 Reminiscience ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 24 Audio 2009-06-15 Uncanny Planet Records
25 Cowboy Desperado ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 17 Audio 2005-11-14 Port Azur
26 Ghost Von Frost ↓ mp3 ↓ zip 3 Audio 2010-02-22 Uncanny Planet Records

Biography of Ugress

Ugress is a musician, producer and remixer from Bergen, Norway. He's been producing music a couple of years, using samplers, synths and computers.

Ugress dives into a groovy, spooky and cinematic landscape of weird samples, loops and sounds. Strong rythms carries soundscapes and melodies forth. The sources of sampling include easy listening records of the 60ies, unknown and well known classic funktracks of the 70ies, computer games, television commercials and the oldest aswell as latest sci-fi b-movie. The compelling groove of a breakbeat (or two, or three) is, of course, always present.

Ugress released the first self-issued 12" E-Pipe in 2000, and started playing live the following winter. The first gig was basically just a favour for Bergen Filmklubbs (Bergen Film Society) at their biannual releaseparty, and the gig was a success. With only one cinematic concert, the band was in heavy demand. During 2001-2002 the live reputation of the band created a stirr in Norwegian press, Ugress won several national compos, and caught the attention of several labels. Also, the funkish Loungemeister was heavily played on national radio, and used in numerous commercials and situations.

However, it was a remix that caught the attention of Port Azur, freshly started Norwegian electronic label by Tuba. While hunting for tracks to include on their first compilation, they came across Ugress remix of Slowphos "Would You", and tried to find more. Luckily, they did, and during spring 2002 a deal emerged. The result: A 12" vinyl EP Loungemeister, and Ugress first full album, Resound.

The album was released on Sept 9th 2002, and was immedeately sold out. At first there were planned and printed 3000 copies. But preorders demanded more than double that, so the first shipment was 8000 copies. This was sold out in the first few days, and new pressings had to be ordered continously. The album debuted at 2nd place in Norwegian charts to everyones surprise, with raving reviews and huge attention in Norwegian press.

Since then Ugress music has been featured almost everywhere, from movies and television programs to nightclubs and coffee shops. And internationally, things are starting to pick up, with radio and video play as far away as Australia and Iceland. International release is planned for February/March 2003.

Ugress is not completely instrumental. Four of the songs on Resound contain vocals by Therese Vadem, and more vocal tracks are in the works. Since spring 2002, she has also been a constant member of the live crew, joining in on some of the tracks on vocals. She has a mesmerizing apperance on stage, and a beautiful, lush voice.

Therese is also one of the two beautiful voices in Atakama, and in addition to a great voice talent, she is also an artist with the brush, having several exhibition of paintings and cover artworks behind her.

Comments about Ugress: